Best budget dvd ?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by swayzak, Nov 18, 2001.

1. swayzak

swayzak

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    hi

I'm new to dvd and want to get a cheap(ish) player. I don't want to blow a load of cash cause dvd-r is just around the corner !

Looking to spend around £150-200 (uk based).

Searched the net (including this forum) for reviews - a few stick out e.g. Toshiba 210e, Wharfdale M5.

I'm now thinking seriously about the modified Toshiba 210e from DVD Magic (who are based in my home city).

Any further thoughts on this player (or better alternatives) ?

...and a few other questions (I'm a dvd virgin):

1. The Toshiba doesn't have Dolby 5.1 - is this important ?

2. Several people have complained about "noisy mechanism" - is this a significant drawback ?

3. How will the impending dvd-r explosion affect the future compatibility of current dvd players ?

4. My current Panasonic tv has the normal coax aerial socket plus a Scart socket (nothing else) and the video has 2 SCART sockets. Is this setup enough to get me going ?

cheers

swayzak

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I think that most complaints about noisy mechanisms on the Tosh 210 relate to those modified by Techtronics and not DVD Magic.

It is a highly rated unit but so is the new Panasonic 444 which is available multi region at around the same price.

The "lack of 5.1" refers to the lack of a Dolby Digital decoder on the player. To listen to surround you will need either a separate amp / receiver or a Dolby Digital TV.

As you will be listening through your television you will be limited to stereo only.