1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best AV output for a VCR

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by Fuchida, Nov 1, 2003.

Tags:
  1. Fuchida

Fuchida
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am very new to the home cinema world and I have only recently setup my equipment. I am using a Denon DVD-2900, Denon AVR-3803, Sky+, Panasonic PT-AE300 Projector and a 106" Draper screen (and an X-box with the Hi-Def kit).

However I have thousands of pounds of commercially produced VHS videos (Babylon 5, Star Trek, films, etc.) that I would like to still view and I have a three year old (at least) Toshiba V858B VCR that only has scart and standard audio connections.

If I bought a new VCR to try and get a better picture, what should I be looking for? I don't know much about how the VHS tapes are recorded. Presumably component video or RGB output via scart is for DVD only (and the same for optical audio). What are the best output types for video and audio on a VCR and can anyone recommend a good. modern VCR?

Or, given the quality of VHS tapes, is upgrading is a waste of time anyway, even if they are commercially produced?

Steve

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    The best video output from a normal VCR is composite (video). S-VHS machines output in S-Video and allow you to play back your existing tapes outputting in such. Personally I find it doesn't make that much difference (as with anything it depends on source) but its better than nothing. The question is do you consider it worth paying that little bit more for? Only you can answer that.

That's correct.