Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Best AV output for a VCR

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Fuchida, Nov 1, 2003.

1. Fuchida

Fuchida
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am very new to the home cinema world and I have only recently setup my equipment. I am using a Denon DVD-2900, Denon AVR-3803, Sky+, Panasonic PT-AE300 Projector and a 106" Draper screen (and an X-box with the Hi-Def kit).

However I have over 500 pre-recorded VHS videos that I would like to still view and I have a three year old (at least) Toshiba V858B VCR that only has scart and standard audio connections.

If I bought a new VCR to try and get a better picture, what should I be looking for? I don't know much about how the VHS tapes are recorded. Presumably component video or RGB output via scart is for DVD only (and the same for optical audio). What are the best output typed for video and audio on a VCR and can anyone reccomend a good. modern VCR?

Or are VHS tapes that bad that upgrading is a waste of time anyway?

Steve

2. calibos

calibos

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +33
    Exactamondo! :D

Get a Dvd recorder for archiving in future and keep your current VCR for watching your old tapes. Best connection available for your vcr is composite over scart with sterep from the standard audio connections.

Even if you got a SVHS deck which have S-Video output, your current tapes would still look ropey on the PJ although new stuff recorded on it would look better than standard VHS but seeing as your old stuff will still look the same anyway your better getting a dvd recorder for future recordings.

3. Fuchida

Fuchida
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0