Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Best Audio Option On Jap Gamecube With Component Connection

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by staffspeted, Mar 19, 2003.

  1. staffspeted

    staffspeted
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just become the proud owner of a Japanese version Gamecube and have connected it to my Toshiba 32ZD26P TV via the Official Nintendo Component Video Lead for an awesome picture.
    However I would like advice or recommendation on the best sound connection option I have.
    I have a Panasonic Receiver/Amp in the system for 5:1 Home Cinema sound. What is the recommended connection to receive Gamecube console audio through the Amp as oppose to simply using the TV out audio.
    Advice much appreciated
    Pete
     
  2. Willy

    Willy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the exact same set-up that you do. I have the GC connected to the Tosh with the component cable, and then an S-video cable going into the back of my amp. Don't know if this is the best way to do it, but it works for me!

    You didn't chuck your s-vid cable out when you got the component one, did you?!
     
  3. staffspeted

    staffspeted
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it...Done It...Easy...Wow!!!!
    Thanks for the help , was quite obvious really!!!
    This is one helluva machine,knocks spots off the PS2 !

    Thanks once again Pete
     
  4. staffspeted

    staffspeted
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a footnote..Do you know of a supplier for an Auto Switching Component Video Switch Box? Is there such a thing?
    So I dont have to unplug my DVD from the inputs to plug the Nintendo in?
     
  5. Willy

    Willy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    No probs. :)

    There was quite lot of talk about this on this forum about component switchers a little while back. Do a search on 'component switch box' - there's at least a couple of threads, including one started by me asking the same question you just asked!

    The basic conlusion I drew is that you don't need a 'proper' component one (they cost loads) - a video switcher that handles 75ohms (I think this is right, the thread will explain better than I can) will do. I know there's a remote controlled one available, but am not sure of the quality. I got a manual change one for about £30, and it does the trick just fine. I have GC & Xbox hooked up for progressive scan, with a DVD player to follow shortly. There's no visible loss of quality through the switch box, and it's simple to set up (if I didn't have any problems it must be easy!).

    Anyway, good luck.
     
  6. Willy

    Willy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just seen you have the Tosh 520 DVD player. That's the one I'm after! I have seen it for £175. Would you mind offering your thoughts on the player in conjunction with your TV?

    Cheers...
     
  7. staffspeted

    staffspeted
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info Willy , will check out the thread.
    The Tosh 520e is imo £500 worth of dvd player for £200!
    Well on a par with Denon/Marantz/Kenwood etc. The picture in Progressive scan is superb and the sound from the digital out into an amp is awesome (My neighbours have moved!!)
    I like it ..buy it!!! You wont regret it :smashin:
     
  8. Willy

    Willy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    :(

    I just knew you were going to say that. You do realise this means my girlfriend is going to kill me when I get one, don't you?!

    Joking aside, cheers mate: I'm glad you're so positive, I really want this player!
     
  9. staffspeted

    staffspeted
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No probs!!!
    I usually buy stuff install it while shes at work , then say I got it cheap off Ebay!! lol
    Whats the make and Mod of your switcher?ALso who did you get it off?
    Good thread link by the way
     
  10. Willy

    Willy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice