Question Best amplifier under £2k? Either Vintage or Contemporary.

tornpower

Novice Member
:thumbsdowIf its vintage i'm assuming that it is brand new or fully refurbed. Im looking for the absolute best sound. Listening mostly to reggae on vinyl.

Total noob but have started saving. Advice on speakers wouldn't go a miss either to be honets but plan to post a separate thread.

:clap:
Thanks for hearing me out. Would be stoked to hear any advise.

Yours,

:DArthur

indus

:thumbsdowIf its vintage i'm assuming that it is brand new or fully refurbed. Im looking for the absolute best sound. Listening mostly to reggae on vinyl.

Total noob but have started saving. Advice on speakers wouldn't go a miss either to be honets but plan to post a separate thread.

:clap:
Thanks for hearing me out. Would be stoked to hear any advise.

Yours,

:DArthur

The speakers are the most important component in a chain. I wouldn't spend £2k on an amp unless you are intending to spend about £5k on speakers

tornpower

Novice Member
fair enough. Then I guess what would be the best 2k amp for 5k speakers. Could you recommend some speakers around that price? Thanks

gibbsy

Don't really think you have to spend £5k with a £2k amp. I'd love to mind you. Somebody please gift me a pair of KEF Reference 1s. I have a Rega Elicit-R, £1760 and to my ears and with my £1000 (then) pair of KEF R300s that amp easily outperformed a £2100 Naim Nait XS2.

Speakers are very important certainly, probably the number one consideration in audio. Number two would be the room. Put good speakers in a bad room and no matter what amp you throw at them it could be a disaster.

If you get a pair of £5k floorstanders and tuck them away in a corner in a room full of hard reflective surfaces then that is money not well spent. Likewise put the wrong combination of amp and speakers together...….

gibbsy