1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best 40"ish Plasma for PS/HDTV gaming?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by Abadd, Jan 29, 2003.

1. Abadd

Abadd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Im new to this whole Progressive Scan, HDTV lark so need some advice.
    Im looking to buy a Plasma between 36-42" that makes my NTSC Gamecube and Xbox games look pukka. Any recommendations? Preferably with 720p and 1080i if you can get both at that size.
    Links to specs/retailers would be nice.

Cheers

2. NeilMcRae

NeilMcRae

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
  3. Confucius

Confucius

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +90
    Watch out for screen burn.

4. CarlB

CarlB

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +97
    I use a Panasonic 42" plasma with my NTSC Gamecube and XBox and they both look fantastic in progressive scan.

However, while the Panasonic SD model (480p) can display both 720p and 1080i signals they will obviously be downscaled to a 480p resolution by the plasma. Apparently this still looks great according to reports on the US forums, but I haven't tried any 720p games myself to comment. Personally I don't think there will be that many 720p games in the current hardware range as extra processing is required, so I don't think you will benefit much currently.

Having said that, who knows what will happen with XBox Next / PS3, so maybe a display such as the Pioneer 433 MXE will be better suted to your needs, or the Panasonic HD display. Both of these offer a hi-def 768 display which will offer improved resolution with 720p sources. The MXE is also very competitively priced.

Have a look through the threads, there are many conflicting opinions on the Panasonic vs Pioneer debate. Both are great panels so you can't really lose.

5. Abadd

Abadd

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: