1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best 17 inch LCD?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by mc_blue, Dec 30, 2003.

1. mc_blue

mc_blue

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am currentely looking at a Philips 17PF9945. I have been impressed with the look of the set and the specifications seem good for the price. However, when visiting my local Comet I could not properly appreciate the picture quality as the set was poorly installed (poor cables, channels not fine tuned etc.) and the sales staff knew less about television than myself...

As I am a newbie to this forum what other alternatives should I look out for?

I have read a couple of previous threads on this particular model and the general feedback seems to be pretty good. On the other hand, is there chance of a newer model coming out in a couple of months time? I do not need to purchase this TV immediately and would rather hold out for a newer model if possible.

Finally I am concerned about the lifespan of these screens. Does anyone know the number of hours for a Philips LCD? I do not want this set to just die after a couple of years :mad:

Thanks in advance mc_blue ;)

2. Dutch

Dutch

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +282
    Hi,

Check out the Grundig 17" model sold only at Currys/Dixons (I'm afraid) so don't expect to find it connected up with any source better than composite!. Excellent set and now reduced to £499 I believe from the £699 it was originally. Hope this helps.

Steve

3. KevinR

KevinR
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dixons in Durham had this on display with a further £100 off, down to £399

4. mc_blue

mc_blue

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0