1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Beovision Avant & High Definition

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Stewarty, Feb 27, 2005.

1. Stewarty

Stewarty

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought a new Avant 32 DVD recently and I'm a wee bit bewildered by all thie hype about HD television. Can anyone tell me if CRT will be compatable with HD and speaking of B&O, can the Avants software be upgraded to comply with DV1 & HDMI? If not - what difference will HD make (if any) to non compliant CRT? PS I'm a newbie - be gentle with me :lease:

2. loz

loz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    CRT sets can be compatible with HD.
    However, I don't know if your B&O set is HD resolution, but it doesn't have the necessary inputs AFAIK.
    DVI and HDMI are hardware, so software won't upgrade it.
    Though B&O could possibly release an add-on module if the display itself is capable of HD.

HD will make no difference to non-HD sets. You will have no way to input the signal, or view it as HD. As such it is an irrelevance.

3. Stewarty

Stewarty

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the feedback Loz, I've been looking at the the www.beoworld.co.uk site and find that quite a few contributor's believe that HD will make a small improvement to non compliant equipment picture quality. However I think that B&O are few steps behind the field in terms of HD development. Take the new BV7 LCD for example, which is not HD compliant! With regard to the Avant's picture quality I believe that you can't really improve what is alaready a near perfect picture - far superior to any flat screen LCD or Plasma out there IMHO. LOL Stewarty :thumbsup:

4. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215