1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ben's new cinema room....

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by benwillcox, Jul 14, 2005.

  1. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Ah I found it. It's called 'rack strip' and I can even get it at Maplin:

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=1784&TabID=1&C=SEO&U=SEOsearchPages&doy=search


    Well I had imagined that the rack would only be about 2 or 3 feet tall, and start maybe 2 foot off the ground, so it would be suspended from only the rack rails.
    I think that the rails I have should cope with the weight especially if I use all 4 of them. But then again, maybe I'll have to experiment and see! The only stuff I can think that I'll have in the rack is a HTPC, Amp, and maybe a BFD, unless I've forgotton some essential item!

    Ben
     
  2. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    Looking forward to seeing the pics of that when you've got it up and running. :)

    Gary
     
  3. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +1,021
    :D I wont :cool:
     
  4. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Second half of the stud wall started to go up, plus the door frame:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Not a lots happened as I've been doing some thinking about the placement of the rack and aircon unit.
    I'd originally planned to have some columns down the sides of the rooms (as on my first Visio plan), however after doing some measurements I don't think I'll be able to fit them in, so that idea is scrapped. So that also means that I'll probably go with a 5.1 or 6.1 system instead of 7.1, as there's nowhere for the extra speakers to go now.

    Also saw someones build on AVSforum where they had recessed their aircon unit into the wall, so I'm gonna do the same with mine!

    I've started framing out for the recess for the aircon unit (the top large horizontal space) and the equipment rack (the left vertical space). I'm still waiting for my rack strip to be delivered (got it from ebay in the end) before I fix the studwork in position so I get the widths correct.

    [​IMG]

    I'm finding it a little tricky as all the measurements and positioning depends on many factors, such as how low the soffits will be, how tall the rack needs to be, necessary clearance around the aircon unit, clearance away from the screenwall/stage/front columns, spacing between rack and aircon unit etc.etc.
    So it'll probably end up wrong somewhere along the line!!!
     
  6. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Got the rack strip today. Unfortunately the Dell rack rails won't fit as the angle in the strip is too close to the punched holes. Hmm........


    Anyway, today I also built a recess tray for the air-con unit. It will only recess about 3 inches into the wall to avoid restricting the airflow, but every inch counts (so the ladies tell me :D )

    I used 18mm MDF:

    [​IMG]

    And with the unit in:

    [​IMG]

    I might get around to mounting it in the stud wall tomorrow......

    Ben
     
  7. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,578
    Did you drill into yourself at any time because that looks like an awful lot of blood around the drill there.... ;)

    Gary
     
  8. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    No pain, no gain, that's what I always say!

    Fixed some more of the studwork into position to allow the MDF tray I made to fasten in:

    [​IMG]

    Not sure what to do about the rack strip yet, I can either try and find some more that the rails will fit, or I can butcher the rails with my angle grinder to make them fit....
     
  9. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    OK started building a frame to mount the rack strip to, which will be recessed into the wall. I did some angle grinder surgury on the Dell rack rails to make them fit.

    Heres the frame with the rack rails fitted (they will also be supported at the rear by more rack strip):

    [​IMG]

    And it'll look like this with the rack pulled out:

    [​IMG]

    Finished framing out for this to fit into the wall:

    [​IMG]

    And the plasterboard is now up!

    [​IMG]
     
  10. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Put 2 coats of matt black paint on my MDF creations and mounted them in the wall:

    [​IMG]

    Here's a view from the back, which will be inside the cupboard when I build the rest of the walls - these walls were filled with more insulation:

    [​IMG]


    From the side you can see that the unit sticks out 3 inches less than it would have done without the recess tray:

    [​IMG]
     
  11. wandgrudd

    wandgrudd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    looking good [​IMG]
     
  12. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Thanks wandgrudd!

    OK. Framed out for the cupboard that will house the av rack, and plasterboarded it inside (nearly):

    [​IMG]

    The rack is sort of done! I realised I'd made a big miscalculation when working out the width of the rack rails - I'd spaced them so that normal 19" gear would fit in the rack, but didn't allow for the width of the inner rack that will slide in and out, with the result that none of my av gear would actually fit in there!

    Luckily I noticed this in time and was able to take off the front pb sheet and adjust the stud spacing and remade the MDF rack frame 2 inches wider. Good fun.

    So, here's the rack strip mounted now at the front and rear, with the Dell server rack rails in place (they are the rapid-rails, so just clip in place):

    [​IMG]

    And they then extend like this:

    [​IMG]

    The rack (yet to receive it's shelves) drops in place here (it looks a bit wonky in this photo but it's just the angle the picture was taken, honest!):

    [​IMG]

    And then with the rack pushed back into place:

    [​IMG]

    Heres a pic from the front with the rack fully out:

    [​IMG]


    It seems to work pretty much as I had imagined, and will allow me to pull out all the rack to give easy access to the back of the gear without having to disconnect anything.
     
  13. wandgrudd

    wandgrudd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Got to say that’s going to be a good looking system when it’s done. Love the rack idea and from the sounds of it a good bit cheaper than a of the shelf one. Can’t wait to see it done. (Hurry up)

    bet its been nice with the air con on the last few days a least you should still be able to work if it gets warm again


    :thumbsup:
     
  14. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +246
    It's all looking very good although I'm a little confused regarding the rack mounting!!

    As far as I can tell you are rack mounting your rack!?!?!?
     
  15. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Heh, I'm hurrying!
    It's actually been very cool inside without the aircon on at all, even when it was very warm outside last week., I guess becuase the back part of the room is kind of underground. I've been using the system mostly in heating mode so far, but I'm sure when I get a few sweaty bodies in there for a couple of hours I'll need some cooling.
     
  16. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Hmm, it does sound a bit strange when you put it like that! Yes, pretty much, although the slidey out bit that I'm making out of MDF will not really be a rack as such, but have some shelves inside, as none of my gear is actually rack-mountable!
    Does that make sense?

    Cheers,
    Ben
     
  17. baldrick

    baldrick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Providence, Rhode Island
    Ratings:
    +246
    That explains everything although you can buy rackmount adapters for non-rackmount kit!

    I want to rackmount a load of kit in our new house and I almost fainted when I looked at the price of 'off the shelf' racks! I will certainly be buying some of the rack strip from Maplins and making one....
     
  18. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Time for a little update.

    Door is in complete with door closer and handle:

    [​IMG]

    Back wall of the games room is boarded, you can see the pipe run for the cinema aircon unit across the top of the wall:

    [​IMG]

    and the aircon unit plumbed in and working:

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Max Payne

    Max Payne
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +135
    Very impressive - watching this with great interest.

    Hats off to you, great ideas coming together very,very nicely!
     
  20. booyaka

    booyaka
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    10,178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +2,748
    looking forward to seeing this progress - good work!
     
  21. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Thanks for the kind words fellas!

    Last wall in the cinema room is plasterboarded, woo hoo! :smashin:

    [​IMG]

    We dot 'n dabbed this rear wall as the plasterboard would have stood proud of the window sill otherwise.
    There will be a big rectangular 'plug' that fits in the recess so you don't actually see the window.

    So next step is to get it skimmed, then the fun stuff starts!
     
  22. stu_69

    stu_69
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    great work mate. We will be buying a place later this year or at the latest early next year and I am hoping to get somewhere I can put in my own cinema.

    Anyway this may seem a stupid question but why not just put a door from your games room into the back of the equipment store?
     
  23. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Cheers Stu, bet you can't wait!

    The Building Inspector came round this afternoon, and as usual I was bricking it in case he said something like 'its all wrong, rip it down and start again'! But no, again it was quite straightforward, he mentioned the requirement for a Means Of Escape window if I was going to replace the window (which the first guy didn't mention :eek: ) but I've decided to keep the original windows at least for now so that doesn't matter.

    So, I've got my plasterer coming round on Saturday to skim it. The games room needs to wait a bit longer as I need to sort the external doors out and stuff, but that doesn't matter right now.

    I was thinking about putting a door into the back of the cupboard at one point but I decided not to as I wanted the wall to be as soundproof and lightproof as possible, which means cutting as few holes in it as I can!

    Cheers,
    Ben
     
  24. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22
    Plasterer came a day early :thumbsup:

    So, here's the result:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  25. rhino2k

    rhino2k
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,568
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,050
    this is going to be an awesome build mate :thumbsup:
     
  26. andyturner28

    andyturner28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hi Ben.

    I have the single indoor unit version of that which i got from www.airconforless.co.uk
    It works prety good but i would highly advise getting it professionaly installed as if doing it DIY there is no way of completely extracting all the air from the system, which will cause problems later, as i found out to my cost. I had to get it re gassed after 20 million calls to the distributer and it cost me £80.

    I hope i am not too late with this advice as i am only on page one of your thread. Should be spectacular when it is completed, i wish we had a basement.

    Good luck with the build,

    Andy.
     
  27. andyturner28

    andyturner28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, too late.

    I assume you didn't have any problems with it. Aircon didn't supply me with a pump.

    You have a fantastic room there, cant wait to see the fun parts go in.

    Andy.
     
  28. benwillcox

    benwillcox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +22

    Hey Andy,

    I had looked at aircon4less also, but they stopped responding to my email queries when I asked about the 5% VAT law and also whether the unit they were advertising was an inverter model - so I avoided them. The vaccum pump hire with Global Cooling was optional, but I'm glad I got it as when I installed the first unit it showed up a leak that I wouldn't have known about otherwise! (I just hadn't tightened one of the nuts up enough).

    Thanks for the comments!

    Cheers,
    Ben
     
  29. rich1231

    rich1231
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ben,
    great build diary..

    Re the Air con I bought and 18000 BTU unit on ebay for £260 a few weeks back. It was installed professionally this weekend and is fine. Its variable speed, not just on and off.

    I had to have a special pump installed to take the water away which was a pain.

    The one think to watch out for is the power supply as this one as most to have a big ampage spike when they start up. Upto 10 times its rated current. And these special supplies need to have isolators withing 2m of the unit I believe.

    Rich
     
  30. andyturner28

    andyturner28
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That dosn't supprise me at all, their customer service leaves a lot to be desired. I literally left them about 100 messages before they replied and then it took another 5 phone calls before they came round to re-gas the thing. I have since had a problem where the fan stops working untill i either turn it off at the mains or go through all the modes several times, so it looks like another 100 phone calls. They are not answering at all at the moment.

    DO NOT USE AIRCONFORLESS. You will end up loosing all your hair if you do

    When do you start the fun stuff. I cant wait.

    Cheers,

    Andy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...