1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Benefits: What a scam

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by eviljohn2, Sep 9, 2005.

1. eviljohn2

eviljohn2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +208
    Sorry for pestering everyone about this but I need to vent some steam about this.

It turns out that I'm not entitled to Jobseekers Allowance because I havn't paid enough National Insurance contributions over the tax years ending 5 April 2003 and 5 April 2004 whilst I was in full time education and I have over £3000 of savings.

Most of you will know that up until this summer I have been in full-time education for all of my life up until this summer when I graduated. I also took an industrial placement year as the 3rd year of my 4 year degree course. This apparently means that I did make enough contributions in the tax year ending 5 April 2004 and I would have done in the tax year ending 2005 too.

I've have worked since I was 16 around my full-time education (culminating in a physics degree for anyone that wants to suggest Mickey Mouse) and don't understand how I could have paid any additional national insurance over the course of my life unless I hadn't bothered going to University.

Having established that I'm not entitled to that bit it also transpires that for every £250 above the £3000 allowance (the allowance is every single penny of capital that I own which I have carefully saved until now) I lose a pound of benefit until I reach the £8000 of savings mark at which point I'm not entitled to anything until I have run my own capital down first.