Benchmarks used in reviews

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Greg Hook, Feb 1, 2014.

1. Greg Hook

Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +11,703
    As a noob, I can't seem to get the right balance in my PC reviews. I've added loads of benchmarks that people have suggested over the years but then get complaints that I am still not doing it properly or it's too synthetic.

I know most of us here build our own systems but in a PC system review what benchmarks would you like to see run? Just a note, it needs to be free as AVF won't pay for it and also in our new one page format I need to be fairly brief.

Also, I'm guessing it is just me that didn't know that drive manufacturers use a different definition of a GB than computer science does? :laugh:

If anyone wants to be a technical consultant or even a reviewer to help me, then please step forward. It's unpaid obviously but you do get to play with some nice toys.:D

2. Delvey

Delvey
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,924
    I would say obviously Valley benchmark and I think some kind of 3d mark was free
    Games would be good but like you said, they are not free

3. Chuck Norris

Chuck Norris
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,485
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  4. Greg Hook

Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11,703
    Here's what I currently use:

Super Pi @ 1M
    3D Mark 11
    Passmark Performance Test 7
    Cinebench 11.5
    Unigine Heaven 4
    Unigine Heaven 3
    Unigine Valley 1
    PC Mark 7

then ATTO Disk Benchmark it if has an SSD.

For gaming I usually do COD, BF3 and Max Payne 3. There are probably better games to benchmark with but I don't own too many.

5. Sniper Ash6

Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member