1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Belkin Hi Speed DVD Creator & Sky+

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Ginnser, May 8, 2005.

1. Ginnser

Ginnser
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone

Real novice here.

Trying to copy a program from my Sky+ to my Sony Laptop.

I have purchased the Belkin Hi-Speed USB 2.0 DVD Creator and installed on my laptop, it acknowledges it is working ok in the system.

I have an S-Video cable from the Sky+ box to the Belkin USB box. I mark the program in Sky+ to copy, select it and it tells me that its about to play, so start recording, but when i run any capture software, nothing appears in the preview window, and get error messages.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Mark

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    What error message are you getting?
    How much RAM and disc space do you have on the laptop?
    Is the processor fast enough to do the job? Check the specs on the Belkin box to see what is needed.
    What version of Windows are you running?
    Can you capture from another source? ie VCR, video camera etc.
    Is the S-Video lead (and the separate audio leads) ok?

Sorry to throw loads of questions back at you, but video capture problems are normally down to lack of resources or simple software setup errors.

Mark.

3. Ginnser

Ginnser
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mark

Sony Viao laptop 3 months old with 512mb ram. meets all t
    e requirements for belkin. Running Win XP. Thr S-Video cable is new today. Tried to capture from my Sony DVD system with same cable and no joy. I am able to connect my Sony camcorder but using the cables supplied with it, not the s-video cable.

is tne s-video socket on the Sky+ box an output socket?