beginners guitar player thread

reevesy

Distinguished Member
hi all...
had a search through this section and couldn't find one place where all beginners could ramble,ask questions....give and receive tips etc so I thought I'd create one.

at the ripe old age of 46 I decided to finally have a go...only been playing just over a month after getting an acoustic but I'm really enjoying it....I was a drummer in a punk band in my teenage years and always thought guitar playing was some sort of voodoo magic...even 3 chord punk thrashings.

people have tried to show me a few times over the years but I always thought it was out of my league and it never took but now I've the time ...sitting down on my own with a few chord diagrams and youtube videos I've managed to learn about 9 chords and a handful of easy songs ..the latest is nancy sinatras 'these boots are made for walking' which is quite easy and really bounces along.
...so I guess you'll never too old to start learning.

anyhow i'll start the ball rolling by asking how long on average does it take to master quick major and minor chord changes?
...I tend to split my practice into 2...1 half chord changes and the other just playing about.

I have noticed a bit of this muscle memory thing...late last night I just sat there going from G to D to E minor to C and back again...closed my eyes for a sec and I was doing it with my eyes shut...thought wow...then lost it.

so I'm guessing just stick with it...I've heard a lot of people say that one day it will just happen but wondered how people have got on with it.

cheers all and hopefully theres a few beginners about

hyperfish

Distinguished Member
I'm 53. I played bass in my teens and have never taken it out of the case since.