1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Beginner - What Accesories am I missing?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by hawksa, Aug 31, 2005.

1. hawksa

hawksa
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am just about to put my order in a Sony DCR-HC90 (my first camcorder). I have come up with a list of other bits and pieces that I will need but am I missing anything obvious or that others found really useful?

Camera Bag
    Spare Battery
    Battery Charger
    MiniDV Tapes
    256 Mb Memory Stick

New Harddisk (Already got)
    DVD Writer (Already got)
    Pinnacle 9 DV (the one that includes the firewire bits)

2. Cam Korda

Cam Korda

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a beginner too. I also got a UV Filter (can leave this on to protect the main lens).

3. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    This IMO is a very important bit of protection. A replacement filter at £10-£20 is far cheaper to replace than a new lens for the camcorder :eek:

I think your list covers all the requirements, but a tripod may well come in useful. You will however need to spend a fair amount on it as you need a fluid head on the tripod to get smooth pans etc and these don't come that cheap :(

Pinnacle Studio 9 may be worth passing up (see loads of posts here on how it keeps crashing :rolleyes: ) and getting a separate firewire card & cable (<£20) and then another editing package such as Ulead Video Studio, Sony Vegus Studio etc. All of these programs can be downloaded for a free 30 day trial. They all also include DVD authoring features. Or perhaps use the free Movie Maker 2 that is part of the XP OS with SP2 and then just get a dedicated DVD authoring program such as Ulead DVD MovieFactory for around £30.

Mark.

4. melliott1963

melliott1963