Beginner here....

Wave

Standard Member
Hi, I'm looking for some form of room filling music system, good for large rooms (not village hall large, large domestic use) which isn't too bulky but offers good sound quality, at least, as much as my budget can afford. I have a budget of about 500 quid, and any help in knowing what to look for would be greatly appreciated. Any recommendations also.:lease:

Music4ever

What source are you planning on using? CD, Mp3 or vinyl?

The usual manufactures to look at are Marantz, Rotel, Nad and Cambridge Audio for electronics.

Speakers would include Q Acoustics, Wharfedale, Kef etc.

If you have a local branch of Richersounds then pop in and have a look or if you have an established hifi dealer in your area go and have a look.

Both Richersounds and Superfi do have some specials that can help in building a budget system.

For an all in one system look at the Denon M38, Nad and Cambridge systems.

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member
To fill a big space, this is best done with a lot of larger drivers. In short, multi-driver floorstanders.

Now, based on what you said, we assume you are talking about amp and speakers. Meaning you have a source of sound as suggested by Music4Ever. If this is not true, then give us a list of equipment you expect to buy from your budget.

You can do very well in a stereo with about £250 for an amp, and another £250 for speakers.

Next, are you looking for higher value, meaning more amp for your money while still maintaining reasonable quality. Or, are you looking for higher quality, which in turn means less amp for a given amount of money.

Given your budget, the only reasonable choice are common consumer brands like Cambridge, NAD, Marantz, Pioneer, Yamaha, and similar.

Off the top of my head, I would suggest this -

Yamaha AS300, 60w/ch, £206
YAMAHA AS300 AMPLIFIER - available from Superfi UK

Wharfedale Diamond 10.2, 6.5"/165mm woofer, 40hz, £249/pr