1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Beginner help - best way to view pictures?

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Phil.LFC, Nov 29, 2003.

1. Phil.LFC

Phil.LFC

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +56
    I'm new to Digital cameras. Just bought a Sony DSC-P52. Seems great so far, but what is the best/most common way of viewing your pics?
    I've put them onto PC but don't want to fill up my hard drive. Used the Sony software that came with the camera (not very user friendly!) and burned to CD-R. Also tried making a Video CD. This played on my Toshiba DVD player but again wasn't very user friendly - could not pause or FF pics. The quality was also not as good as when viewed on the PC TFT screen. A Video CD can not be accessed for future editing of pictures so is it best to stick to CD-R's? The only problem playing the CD-R on my DVD player was that again, the picture quality was not brilliant.

I'm thinking of buying a DVD recorder soon with a PC Card slot. Would this be a better way of storing and viewing pictures?

Also, what is the general view on printing pictures? I only have a HP Deskjet 959 printer. Would it be better to use Jessops or similar for printing pictures?

Sorry about all the questions but I just want to get the most out of my new purchase (£160 internet price match from Jessops:) )

2. kenfowler3966

kenfowler3966

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +14
    If you think about it the quality on a tv will never be better than the vga setting on a computer.
    When you view on a pc at about 1280x1000 screen size any more than a 1 meg picture will not be able to display any more detail.