be warned that darblet/ee comes with a USA 2 pin plug-bummer

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by gbmitie, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +70
    For those thinking of buying the darblet/ee be warned it comes with ... yes a USA 2 pin plug and not your 2 pin shaver socket plug either, its those flat 2 pins on a moulded plug so it wont fit into a 2 pin to 3 pin adaptor. I thought it was illegal to sell such a plug in UK?

    a bummer, as with the usa to uk travel adaptor plug it will stick out a mile.

    gbmitie.

    ps as you will see from the post below by Ricky I was misled, it looks as if it depends where you buy it from as Ricky sends his with a uk power supply which is the correct procedure.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  2. Lee.Pie

    Lee.Pie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +100
    Where did you buy yours from?
    You should have been supplied a uk adaptor with it, so you don't even need to use the 2 pin plug.
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,096
    it is illegal...if you sell goods in UK they must come with a UK plug
     
  4. kbfern

    kbfern
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    17,921
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +6,085
    Mine came with an adapter included.:)
     
  5. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +70
    I wont say where I bought it yet but where can I buy a UK adaptor so as to not have to use the usa 2 pin one stuck on a three pin adaptor? And How do I know it will be safe? It says +5v dc ON THE DARBEE but does that mean up to +5v dc or exactly +5dc. I have an 3 PIN UK plug adaptor but its rated to 5.3v dc!! Its used to charge a torch.

    out of interest will this work with the darbee?

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Plug-Camera...22/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1345738712&sr=8-16

    Here are 3 images that show how much that usa 2 pin/uk adaptor combination sticks out.

    gb-
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  6. Ideal AV

    Ideal AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    11,007
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Normanton
    Ratings:
    +6,385
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  7. kbarnes70

    kbarnes70
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,417
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,804
    GB - you need to be totally sure that any adapter you use is the correct voltage, delivers the correct current (amps) and has the correct polarity on the mini-plug (2.1mm plug). If you use an incorrect adapter you may destroy the Darblet and this will void any refund you may want of course. Allan at IdealAV sells these and knows his stuff, so I would only use the one he recommends.

    Cheers,

    Keith
     
  8. Rickyj @ Kalibrate

    Rickyj @ Kalibrate
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5,865
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,888
    Am I right in thinking this is the one you bought off the classifieds so any additional/replacement power supply provided by a retailer may have been omitted from the delivery?
     
  9. kbarnes70

    kbarnes70
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,417
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,804
    What additional or replacement power supply would that be? AFAIK all Darblet's come with a 100-240v 'wall wart' power supply with a US style 2-pin connection. All that is required is a cheap, readily-available US to UK adapter to plug the wall wart into (as in gbmitie's photos).
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  10. Rickyj @ Kalibrate

    Rickyj @ Kalibrate
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5,865
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +1,888
    Sorry Keith, it appeared that the posts above confirmed the units were shipping with replacement power supplies/adapters, and presumed the one gbmitie bought would do too. The adapter in gbmitie's picture could do the job, but gbmitie appeared to suggest all units only come with the 2 pin power supply which is not correct.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  11. kbarnes70

    kbarnes70
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,417
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,804
    Thanks for that info. Cheers, Keith
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice