Be gentle! Help needed wiring a Celestion C6S sub.

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Messiah, Nov 20, 2002.

  1. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    Might sound daft but all my previous subs have had a single phono type connector. However, this C6S is rather more complex and has a plethora of connections on the rear. How do I wire it. It has:

    Line Input - L (phono), R (phono)

    Line Output - L (phono), R (phono)

    High Level Input - L (+,- banana sockets)

    High Level Input - R (+,- banana sockets)

    Aaarrggghhhh! My amp (Marantz 7200) has the standard single phono output for the sub. What do I wire this to on the sub unit?

    Thanks.
     
  2. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    19,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +7,314
    Use line input L, with your single phono out of your amp, and you'll have it wired as you have with your other subs.

    Kev
     
  3. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,624
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    Thanks mozzer.
     
  4. snelly

    snelly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi Messiah,

    I think that the normal approach in this case is to use a single phono connector at the amp end which breaks out to 2 phonos. You can achieve this with a custom lead or a Y splitter phono lead connected to a single phono to phono

    You then connect these 2 phonos to the line in L & R of the sub. There are some advantages to doing this as opposed to just connecting to either L or R line in

    Tim
     
  5. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    19,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +7,314
    If you do connect it this way, and yes it can give advantages, make sure you use a good quality splitter, if you have a decent quality sub cable, then use a splitter of equal or better quality.

    Kev
     
  6. tincan

    tincan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Strood, Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone give an example of the advantages gained by using a splitter instead of just connecting to either the left or right input?
     
  7. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    19,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +7,314
    My take on this, and i'm no expert, plus i am about to experiment with it soon.

    If you use both input's, then the sub ' may ' pick up an earlier signal from the Amp, or, recognise the signal a bit quicker. So, if it recognises it more quickly, then it ' may ' react quicker, so be a bit more responsive.

    Kev
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice