BDV-E280 & "fat" PS3 audio connectivity problem

myunhen

Standard Member
Hi there!
This is my first post in this forum, and hope that someone might be able to point me in the right direction…

First up, here is my AV-set-up situation:
“Fat” Japanese 20GB PS3 (region A blu-ray playback) → Sony BDV-E280 → Toshiba 40LV655P (no ARC) ; all connected via HDMI

Here the tech-spec-facts I know about my set-up, just so that I don't look like complete noob who hasn't read up on his equipment:

Old “fat” PS3s have no HD audio bitstreaming capability; for full HD audio, one needs to set the PS3 to Linear PCM (LPCM), it decodes internally and passes the decoded DTS-HD MA or Dolby TrueHD audio on to a receiver as lossless LPCM HD audio. Output over bitstream results in lossy 5.1 DTS core or DD core audio streams, just like standard DVDs.

The Sony BDV-E280 has 2 HDMI-IN ports, however, external LPCM input is output to maximum of 2ch LPCM, for whatever reason that limitation may be. This tech-spec is well hidden in the owner's manual at the very bottom of the list about its audio capabilities, and is almost nowhere to be found in any product descriptions on any sites that sell the surround sound system.

I really don't mind this fact, as the BDV-E280 is an absolutely fantastic system for small rooms and really is worth its money. 85% of my blu-rays are Region B/Region All anyway, so I can experience full HD audio via blu-ray playback through this system.

However, I have a few selected US and Japanese blu-rays which are Region A only, which leaves me with playback through my PS3.

Resigned to the fact, that I won't get HD audio from my PS3, I am trying to get at least the lossy 5.1 DTS & Dolby core surround audio streams.
I set the PS3 to bitstream out over HDMI, connected it to the HDMI-IN port 1 of the BDV-E280, set the BDV-E280s surround options to A.F.D. standard, which should give out the audio source as it is being input.