BDPLX70a Upscaling Question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by jamiedeluc, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. jamiedeluc

    jamiedeluc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi all, i'm thinking of buying one of these BD players, and would like to know how good this player upscales SD discs. I currently own a Pioneer DV989avi, which gives a fantastic upscaled image. Can the BDPLX70a match its performance.. Any opinions much appriciated.. Cheers:smashin:
     
  2. Pioneer Man

    Pioneer Man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    They are both excellent SD to HD scalars, stick with what you have got if you only wanted DVD playback but Blu-Ray is head and shoulders above most DVDs (but a well mastered DVD can still make a magical picture with a good player and screen).
     
  3. jamiedeluc

    jamiedeluc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +25
    Thanks, I want to start a Blu ray collection, but I have 500+ dvds, so having a player that plays them both well is very important. Dont have the space for (and cant afford to keep) 2 players. Ive pretty much decided to get the LX70a, but just need to know it will be as good at playing and upscaling SD discs as my 989avi....
     
  4. Pioneer Man

    Pioneer Man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Well, you wont go far wrong with the BDP-LX70a, its a top qualty unit.
     
  5. Greggles

    Greggles
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    St. Saviour, Jersey
    Ratings:
    +74
    A very classy looking player, capable of producing very good images and sound, but having picked one up, they don't feel very substantial! A point backed up by this post:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showpost.php?p=6213974&postcount=137

    Having said that,I'd probably buy one if I didn't have the Sony (For the future, I have my eye on the LX80 Profile 1.1/ 2.0 model)
     
  6. johnr2110

    johnr2110
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,754
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +94
    Hi

    I also like the the look of the LX70A & have some questions regarding connecting & setting up. My display is a Pioneer 427xd, isf calibrated which I read exepts 1080/24p, my amp is an Arcam AV300 which I can't afford to change at this time.
    I should also point out that the LX70A will replace my current player so all connections avaliable.

    Thanks in advance

    John
     
  7. Pioneer Man

    Pioneer Man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi John,

    Just use the HDMI out to the screen and the multi channel out to the amp.
     
  8. johnr2110

    johnr2110
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,754
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +94
    Hi Pioneer man

    Haven't come across the term multi-channel connection before what is it & will it give me HD sound or just the normal DD & DTS.

    johnr2110
     
  9. Mike Groves

    Mike Groves
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +37
    At 6.5 Kgs, mine certainly didn't feel flimsy when I was installing it....:eek:
     
  10. quasibongo

    quasibongo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    got mine on tue and it is a very plasticy product for the money, got fed up waiting for denon. aberdeen. wonderful city, spent 4 years at kings college there. very pleased with the pio otherwise apart from joke loading times but dts ma through my denon 4308 is superb. think they might have a prob once denon release machines though
     
  11. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,055
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +224
    I think the Pio LX70a is the equal of my Pio 868 (don't know about the 989 sorry). But... my Pio 868 is multi-region hence why I need to keep both as the Pio LX70a is not fully multi-region yet is it?

    Also, I have some DVD-Audio discs and SACD's which the LX70a doesn't play at all.
     
  12. Pioneer Man

    Pioneer Man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Multi channel is the 6 phono outs, for the 5.1 channels...
     
  13. astirling

    astirling
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +857
    The original firmware is multi-region....ask around on the blu ray forum to see if someone will send you it on disc. Of course you'll lose the increased responsiveness and load times etc. if you roll back to the original firmware.
     
  14. Pioneer Man

    Pioneer Man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    None of the oficial firmware versions were multi region.
     
  15. Boyzer

    Boyzer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Orpington, Kent
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thats the main gripes I have with the LX70a...

    Multi-region...
    Feels a bit flimsy...
    Being Java based, its slow to get going.. With CD's too..
    Being Java based, it crashes occassionally.

    The unit looks fantastic, the picture and sound are awsome. Normally the £1000 price tag (don't tell the wife) would mean i'd be looking for near perfection, but the pros (picture and sound) outweigh the negatives.
     

Share This Page

Loading...