BD player with 110-240V voltage?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by nonsoloinglese, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. nonsoloinglese

    nonsoloinglese
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,958
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +168
    Does anyone know of any manufacturer that is producing a 'worldwide' model. Understandably it would be Region A or B but what interestes me is the voltage?

    Cheers,
    NSI
     
  2. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    These days, it wouldn't surprise me if most of them are dual voltage out of the box, but don't take my word for it :rolleyes:
     
  3. nonsoloinglese

    nonsoloinglese
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,958
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +168
    I have been looking at the images on amazon.com and RS to see what the situation is, seems most of them are either U.S or EU voltage.
     
  4. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Downloading the manual and checking the specs might give you a clue. If they are different voltages, they usually have a different code for each area, if you see what I mean.
    Otherwise, maybe E-mailing the technical dept of a couple of companies?
     
  5. Graham N

    Graham N
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +307
    I may be wrong but I think I read on here that the PS3 is dual voltage

    Graham
     
  6. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Having just had a quick read around the net, it certainly seems at least some of them are :smashin:
     
  7. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +942
    The early Sony BDP-S1 is certainly dual voltage, and I believe the 300, 350, 500 and 550 are as well. The S5000 isn't.

    Nick
     
  8. Ian_S

    Ian_S
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    7,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +2,198
    No sign of dual voltage on my S350...
     

Share This Page

Loading...