BBC UHD via sky Q

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by 1080 jawbreaker, Jul 15, 2018.

  1. 1080 jawbreaker

    1080 jawbreaker
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +906
    What the are the BBC playing at? They show the world cup matches via iplayer in UHD if your lucky enough to have a compatible tv. Then They show Wimbledon semi's and final via sat, Hurray...… but encrypt it so you need to be a sky Q subscriber. nice one.
     
  2. paulyoung666

    paulyoung666
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    13,513
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +3,842
    Your gonna have to explain this one again to me , your saying you can get uhd Wimbledon via iPlayer through sky Q or what , very confused :confused:
     
  3. muppetman

    muppetman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +445
    Isn't it because Sky have allowed the BBC to make this available using Sky UHD capacity ?
     
  4. tommouk

    tommouk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Fleet, Hants
    Ratings:
    +78
    Watching this now on sky Q. Does anyone else notice the screen flickering?
     
  5. adam-burnley

    adam-burnley
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4,594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Burnley
    Ratings:
    +2,482
    Have you got a v1 box by any chance?
     
  6. VisionMan

    VisionMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +1,056
    What on earth are you talking about?
     
  7. 1080 jawbreaker

    1080 jawbreaker
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +906
    bbc shown some Wimbledon games on sat tv but you needed Sky Q to watch it. Being just a license payer isn't enough I now how to shell out for sky Q to watch BBC via sat.
     
  8. 1080 jawbreaker

    1080 jawbreaker
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +906
    no, iplayer is not an option and neither is sky q
     
  9. VisionMan

    VisionMan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Ratings:
    +1,056
    I'd hold off on that. as these are just tests. Theres much more to come.
     
  10. StackH

    StackH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    I love a good rant as much as the next man, but...

    The iPlayer UHD streaming was a trial, so to be fair to the BBC why wouldn't they limit it to devices they know will be able to handle it? Otherwise, they'd be flooded with complaints from users with incompatible devices. Hopefully they've gathered enough data from the World Cup and the tennis to sort out any bugs, capacity issues etc. and will open it up to more devices next time.

    As for satellite, I could be wrong but I don't think that Freesat is UHD capable yet (and would probably need new receivers anyway). Sky Q is, which I guess is why the BBC and Sky trialled it. I personally think they cost for UHD on Sky Q (particularly if you don't want a minibox) is ridiculous, so hopefully the BBC will start increasing UHD output via iPlayer and to more devices.
     
  11. tommouk

    tommouk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Fleet, Hants
    Ratings:
    +78
    Yes, and I have just seen the other thread about screen flicker and v1.

    Thanks for the reply.

    Come on the clarets!
     
  12. whitesnake11

    whitesnake11
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,848
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +645
    I pay my subs and don’t get charged for UHD via Sky. You have to have a multi room sub, however who doesn’t have a tv in the bedroom these days, but there will be some. I certainly don’t feel ripped of by Sky.
     
  13. golden phoenix

    golden phoenix
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    12,690
    Products Owned:
    7
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    cheshire
    Ratings:
    +5,008
    to be honest the picture wasnt up to much cop in uhd very dull no life had a weird filter on it...i watched the regular picture it was brighter looked more life like, but that wasnt great either, had blown out whites and picture fizz, but i preferred it to the UHD pic
     
  14. StackH

    StackH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    It's not a case of feeling ripped off, for me it's more about value for money.

    I have a TV in the bedroom but only really use it for breakfast news while getting ready for work so don't want or need a minibox. For me, multiscreen is not worth the the £12 per month just to get UHD on my TV downstairs for a limited amount of content. It would be nice if UHD was a standalone option (say like the £5 charge for HD), but I understand that Sky are a business and will charge as much as they can get away with. I'm okay with that, I simply won't take the multiscreen package as it stands.
     

Share This Page

Loading...