BBC iPlayer via Broadband Internet Connection

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by JoolsAVF, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. JoolsAVF

    JoolsAVF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I understand I can receive BBC iPlayer plus other services on my TV via my Broadband Internet Connection. The TV is a SONY KDL-32V 5500. TV is downstairs & internet is upstairs so cables cannot be used, however I understand SONY may make a Dongle to facilitate a WiFi connection from my Internet Router.

    If anyone has an experience of doing this I would be grateful for any practical help.

    Thanks

    Jools
     
  2. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,333
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +423
    You need a SMART TV that is not a smart TV. Did you not read the manual?

    Also this has nothing to do with Freeview so you should mask the mods to move it to the appropriate section.
     
  3. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,949
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +618
    You could buy a Roku box or similar device.
    United Kingdom | Roku Streaming Player
    or you could buy a new DVD or Blu-ray player that has SMART facilities. I have a Sony 490 which adds a wide range of streaming services including BBC iplayer. Actually you would need the slightly more expensive Sony 590 which has a wireless connection.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
  4. JoolsAVF

    JoolsAVF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, so the USB port & the LAN ports on the SONY KDL -32V 5500 are not any help in connecting to the internet?. Recently heard the BBC ads about watching iPlayer on the TV & thought the SONY K32V 5500 DL was compatible.

    What is the best section to for this type of query to be in?
     
  5. JoolsAVF

    JoolsAVF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Mike
     
  6. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,949
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +618
    My Sony is a similar model/vintage to yours and the answer is no to a 'dongle'. More recent sets are sometimes sold without wireless facilities although they have SMART. They need a dongle to become wireless.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
  7. JoolsAVF

    JoolsAVF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    But a ROKU Box would work with the TV?
     
  8. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,949
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +618
    Yes, you just plug it into the TV via a HDMI socket and then log the box onto your wi-fi network. The Website explains the proceedure. I have no personal experience of the unit, but that is what it is designed to do.

    No SCART connection.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
  9. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,061
    As your question is being satisfactorily addressed here I see no need to move it... (but will do so if you wish it.)
     

Share This Page

Loading...