1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bbc hd

Discussion in 'TVs' started by gim, Sep 8, 2005.

  1. gim

    gim
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    bbc hd testing singal on eurobird 28.5 e

    BBC HD tests (11480 V)

    BBC HD tests (11498 V)

    is good start for hdtv
     
  2. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    Could well be for the IBC international broadcast convention in Amsterdam this week. The BBC ran HD broadcasts for this event last year as well.
     
  3. dejongj

    dejongj
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28,504
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beautiful South
    Ratings:
    +4,769
    Even more intresting in light of todays announcement that the BBC will start SatTv with ITV...
     
  4. Howard Pitfield

    Howard Pitfield
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +17
    Crystal ball gazing - BBC and ITV share costs of a joint/guest HDTV channel on satellite allowing C4 and Five to guest programmes....Oh I wish


    H
     
  5. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    They've brought some more transposnder space so I think ITV HD next year is on the cards
     
  6. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Where did you read this ?
     
  7. kurtz

    kurtz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    last place you'd look
    Ratings:
    +21
    There's an announcement on bbc.co.uk but it doesn't mention HD
     
  8. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47

    Nothing found at the moment
     
  9. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    Ah someone too hopeful obvioulsy!
     
  10. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    The BBC/ITV Freesat announcement is more an announcement that ITV are joining the BBC in broadcasting ITV1 and ITV2 free-to-air and un-encrypted, as ITV3 and ITVNC are already. (ITV1 is currently encrypted and requires a free-to-view card, ITV2 used to be pay-TV on Sky, but is now also free-to-view)

    With BBC and ITV channels FTA it means they can offer non-Sky receivers, or allow people to use second hand Sky receivers with no cards.

    This could be a major issue for digital switch off in areas where Freeview isn't currently great - though C4 and Five would need to come on board as well ideally.

    Not sure what plans ITV have for HD - though I think the BBC may be formulating some behind the scenes. I would imagine the governors would have to approve any spending plans for HD though?
     
  11. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Oh its tempting but I'll get into serious bother.......
    Lets just say that HD freeview or whatever it might be called will almost certianly be out by the time the next footy world cup finals are being played.... "Governors approve spending plans", first they have to have any money to approve......... Selling off great chunks of the Corporation can only go so far (any many think its too far already)....
    Just a personal opinion of course....
     
  12. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
  13. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    Yes - there are many within BBC Technology - now Siemens, and BBC Broadcast - now owned by others - who would certainly agree...

    Of course with all the people who are being sold off, or "let go" over the next 12 months, to generate "savings" there may be some money to invest in HD upgrades. Some of the infrastructure in BBC Resources studios at TV Centre is getting on a bit. (Specificallly the Thomson vision mixers and the remaining Thomson 1657 cameras if there are any that haven't been replaced by Sony BVP-E30s) Upgrading to HD could be incorporated into the upgrade process I guess.
     
  14. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Exactly so..... Mind you the 166 million just generated from the sale of Broadcast (to an Aussie for heavens sake) will probably go on a new building services provider............ :mad:
     
  15. Howard Pitfield

    Howard Pitfield
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +17
    Graham said "Any views expressed are my personal opinion and not that of my employer! " - and I say "you big tease". You've got me thinking overtime now with your ealrier comments. :smashin:

    Howard
    who ends "My employer is J*ck S***w....."
     
  16. papabear

    papabear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a Quali-tv STB, When Tuning this new channel I take it I just use 28500 as the first number input then 11480 V as the second. Also my dish is static ie it's not on a motor will this stop me from receiving channels.
    SORRY if this seems like a basic question but I'm a bit wet behind the ears on this topic.
     
  17. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    I suspect if you have a fixed dish for Euro HD (as you have a Quali-tv) - then it won't be pointed at 28.5 - the Astra 2/Eurobird orbital slot used by Sky Digital. AFAIK there are no other HD broadcasts in this slot yet. Your dish is likely to be pointed in a different direction at a different satellite (Astra 1 at 19.2 probably) to receive HD1 and other Astra 1 European channels?

    If you also have a Sky digital installation then you could try swapping LNB feeds over - and using the Sky dish to receive the BBC tests - as this will be pointing at 28.5

    28.5 and 19.2 are the orbital slots where the satellites "appear" in the Sky. The 11408 etc. is the frequency of the broadcasts. You may also need to know the SR (or Symbol Rate), the FEC (Forward Error Correction), VID (Video ID), AID (Audio ID) and whether the broadcast is H or V (Horizontal or Vertical) polarised?
     
  18. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    :rotfl: So much of that I don't understand. :rotfl:
     
  19. papabear

    papabear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you Stephen. I will try your suggestion
    Again Many Thanks
     
  20. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    If using a sky dish the signal should be ok but might be a little weak since it will be pointed at 28.2 and EuroBird 1 is slightly further east at 28.5.

    Jim
     
  21. papabear

    papabear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've swapped Sat feeds and it comes up with NO SIGNAL.
    Will I have to re tune the box?
     
  22. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    I resigned from the BBC on the 2nd of September...... My new employer is much better organised....... :D And that isn't just my opinion....!
     
  23. RecordablDVDfan

    RecordablDVDfan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +47
    What do you mean youi've swapped sat feeds ? Are you sure you have your dish pointed at 28.2 deg East ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...