BBC HD pic quality

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by miltsharman, Sep 20, 2007.

  1. miltsharman

    miltsharman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Has anyone else had picture breakup on BBC HD?
    In the past few weeks it seems every programme seems to collapse in to blocks and then wipeout for about 1 to 2 minutes as it reconfigures.

    It always happens in Heros and Waking the Dead. Is a signal problem or is it my box?

    It seems to happen 20 to 30 minutes into the show....never trhough the classy BBC HD ads.... is it copy protection?
     
  2. mkcurtis

    mkcurtis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    427
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +41
    I cannot speak on behalf of Virgin users but I do not think anyone, myself included with Sky HD have reported this fault.

    Maybe a local or a Virgin problem. Sorry
     
  3. 33rpm

    33rpm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    Leigh-on-Sea
    Ratings:
    +3
    Heroes is one thing I regularly watch on BBC HD and I can't say I've had any problems with this or any other BBC HD programe. Perhaps you should get your box checked out...
     
  4. mouseymousey

    mouseymousey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Are you watching whilst the programme is being recorded?

    I've found I get intermittent break up when I do this. Been meaning to report it to virgin.
     
  5. miltsharman

    miltsharman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yes i do record them to review them later.

    if its my box it could explain breakup when the volume is adjusted as well..
    looks like my box is getting poorly:(

    I dread phoning virgin support and wasting my life away for a sensible response:boring:
     
  6. monkeytastic

    monkeytastic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've had the exact same problem. It also happened the other day with a recording of the Mighty Boosh on BBC3 last week.
     
  7. warrej

    warrej
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    300
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I've had the same thing happen during two episodes of Heroes (from a few weeks back). I watched Waking the Dead this week though, and it was OK.

    Edited to add that I watched all as recordings, not live.
     
  8. OneTrouble

    OneTrouble

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    640
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    its your signal..turn your box off and phone customer services..

    tell them its on..they will send someone out

    when engineer comes tell him your picture constantly breaks up on hi def channels and the customer services told you your signal is low from their status checks
     
  9. SpaceGhost

    SpaceGhost
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +33
    :rotfl::rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:
     
  10. OneTrouble

    OneTrouble

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    640
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    either that or spend most of your time saying my picture breaks up...

    "sir, we can see on our system your set top box is working fine, in order for an engineer to visit it needs to be faulty, or we will charge you a £25 call out charge"

    hope ive helped
     
  11. radriderx

    radriderx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13

    Sorry - not had any problems with BBC HD, plenty of picture breakup on other channels though - including sky movies :mad:
     
  12. meltonboy

    meltonboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3,145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +587
    i had this about 3 weeks ago and for about 2 weeks, but has been ok since.

    i have wednesday's heroes still to watch, though....:eek:

    MB
     
  13. rob_finch

    rob_finch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +94
    An episode of Heroes last night kept blocking and freezing up on BBC HD. Gave up and went to BBC3 instead. :(
     
  14. dmx005

    dmx005
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    888
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +39
    Ive had this exact thing happen (during Heroes) on a couple of occasions. I was also recording at the time. Been meaning to call VM but havent got around to it! It also failed to record twice which is annoying as this was the one feature I got the V+ box for! :thumbsdow
     
  15. Woolybully

    Woolybully
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +11
    I have this all the time on BBC HD.It must have started about three or four weeks ago now.I thought it must be a BBC problem but now I'm not so sure.
    Has anyone called Virgin about this? if not I'll have to give them a call myself.
     
  16. PWinwood

    PWinwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Abingdon
    Ratings:
    +14
    No problems at all for weeks on my DS810XE. I think VirginMedia re-encode the H264 MPEG4 satellite signal to MPEG2 or similar don't they? Must be an astonishing bit rate.
     
  17. miltsharman

    miltsharman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    can you explain this in a bit more detail? Are you saying the blocking is being caused by the recoding?

    im just worrried that the box coulod be dying/overheatinng but then why are all SD channels OK?:confused:
     
  18. PWinwood

    PWinwood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Abingdon
    Ratings:
    +14
    I think that if you are having isolated problems with your V+ box it could be down to your box failing as you suggest due to overheating etc or by the quality of your cable connection. As I understand it (I only have an ordinary Virgin TV Pace box keeping the room warm :)) as Virgin recode the original stream to MPEG2 the data rate for the channel must be comparatively high and is therefore more likely to show up deficiencies of your cable connection on the BBC HD channel then any other. Are there any clues in the 'Technical Information' part of the EPG?
     
  19. Captain

    Captain
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +14
    This is happening to me as well, started about three weeks ago, the picture and sound really break up so badly that there is nothing there at all then it gradually clears untill it's back to a perfect picture.

    I have not made much of this as I thought it was a BBC HD problem. I had a new Virgin + box fitted about six weeks ago (don't think it did it before then.)
    By the way it does this both on live TV and recorded stuff.

    Dont know if this makes a difference but on Sunday night I was recording Micheal Palin and watching the live version at the same time, it broke up really badly on this while watching the live version.
     

Share This Page

Loading...