1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BBC Channels unwatchable

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by fazer600, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. fazer600

    fazer600
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Caterham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +5
    For the last couple of days the main BBC channels on my sky+ have become unwatchable. It's like the signal quality has completely deteriorated, the picture is either constantly breaking up or does not show at all(blue screen).

    All the other channels are fine and the other regional BBC channels seem to work fine (I get BBC London).

    What could cause just the loss of these channels (BBC1,2,3 & 4) :rolleyes:

    David
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Broadcast problems at source, uplinking issues or transponder failure.
    Problems with your own hardware, LNB high/low band and H/V switching, tuner issues or local interfernce from radar detector/wireless products.

    Hard to say really, worth doing a full check of all the channels and seeing if there is a pattern beyond the name, you don't say if you have access to just the FTA/FTV channels or subscription channels as well.

    Anyhow, full transponder list here.
     
  3. davidcotton

    davidcotton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +6
    Whilst flicking through last night (friday) the picture quality on bbc1 did seem noticeably poorer than it normally is. This is in the south region btw.
     
  4. fazer600

    fazer600
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Caterham, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +5
    Looking at the lyngsat site, it appears to be just those channels on transponder 45 that are effected.

    I'll try plugging in my old sky digital box in later to see if it is doing the same.

    David
     
  5. Mark Spanner

    Mark Spanner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have had similar problems with my channels in the last week or so.
    Swapped digibox over to old one & still problems! :-(
     

Share This Page

Loading...