1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Battlefield Vietnam Screen Freeze

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by didsmith, Apr 10, 2004.

  1. didsmith

    didsmith
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Has anyone had problems with the screen freezing up on them whilst playing battlefield vietnam

    screen freeze can last up to 3 or 4 minutes and can sometimes be broken by escaping out of the game back to the menu screen and then going back into the game

    might be my specs p4/1.7 512 meg ram ati 9600 /game set to lowest video settings but when it goes work i'm not getting any slowdown which makes me thing it might be the game and not my setup


    any help would be welcome
     
  2. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    No issues here.. except the odd bit of lag when ppl with very high pings join the game..other than that its great fun!

    Matt
     
  3. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +260
    you may benefit from downloading the most up to date drivers for your card cat 4.4. Here's a no of fixes it does:-

    Resolved Game Issues
    This section provides information on game issues that have been resolved in the latest release of CATALYST™. These include the following:

    Worms 3D no longer fails to properly play. Launching in game movies no longer results in only the sound being heard with the display being corrupted or black
    :)Intermittent texture corruption and flashing is no longer seen when playing the game Battlefield 1942 :)(same engine iirc)
    The shadow of the characters in the game Splinter Cell Pandora Tomorrow are now being displayed properly
    Display corruption is no longer noticed when switching between 2D and 3D modes in the game Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004
    The performance of the game Tomb Raider AOD is no longer compromised when running the game at the display resolution of 1600x1200
    The brightness option found in certain games is now working properly when extended desktop is enabled and both monitors are set to 1280x1024 32bpp
    Configuring the game RACER version 0.50 to run at full screen, 1600x1200 32bpp, no longer results in the game failing to respond
    Setting the display resolution to 1600x1200 and running the game Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy no longer results in display corruption being noticed at a specific point in the game
    Display corruption is no longer seen when playing the demo version of the game Far Cry

    you can download here (assuming your os is windowsxp):-

    http://www.ati.com/support/drivers/...&prod=productsXPdriver&submit.x=13&submit.y=8
     
  4. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    4.4 already!


    Wonder if the omega cats are out yet?
    Matt
     
  5. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +260
    Is there a patch out and are you up to date with direct x (9b now I think)?
    Have you run a benchmarking prog to see if you have any issues something like 3dmark2003 will do?

    try running dxdiag to see if you have any issues.
     
  6. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +260
    Did you manage to get sorted Matt?
     
  7. Chanser

    Chanser
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    The Black Hole
    Ratings:
    +289
    My Battlefield freezes for some reason, I think it's due to Punkbuster and my Zone Alarm blocking Punkbuster.
     

Share This Page

Loading...