Bathroom TV Options - Help Needed

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by kudos2, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Doh ! :suicide: Of course, that would have been much easier.

    I also had to use a drill and tile bit to drill about 50 holes in a tile, then use a hack saw and tile file to cut a large diameter hole in a tile for the loo waste, took forever...

    Kudos
     
  2. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Ok guys, I have an issue with the electrics maybe you can help with......

    I have two isolator switches for the bathroom on the outside of course. One does the underfloor heating, the other does the Whirlpool bath, TV and Towel Rail (W+TV+TR).

    My towel rail is going to be run as electric only.

    Now, what I want is to have the towel rail on a timer such that it comes on/off at predetermined times, but is also over-ridable should I want to manually switch it on/off.

    I could put the timer unit in the main feed that comes into the isolator, the timer would then switch on/off the (W+TV+TR)

    or

    I could just put the timer on the Towel rail feed only, but this would mean leaving the TV+Bath on all the time.

    I'm not sure if you can get a timer thermostat for towel rails. You can get a nice adjustable one which you can turn on/off manually:

    New MEG Digital Microchip controlled Thermostatic Heating Element in Chrome

    This may end up being the simplest solution.

    So what I think I'm looking for is an in-wall digital mains switch timer with an override on/off button.

    Anyone got any ideas / alternative solutions?

    EDIT: Just found this: http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=12726&C=SO&U=strat15

    Cheers,
    Kudos
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2009
  3. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Wahey - the hdmi chain works !

    [​IMG]

    I bought a Neet HDMI splitter to split off the SKY HD feed, which goes through 16m of HDMI leads and connectors - and it works :eek: :D

    Kudos
     
  4. MarkP80

    MarkP80
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aberdoon!
    Ratings:
    +110
    Hi,

    I think ideally you would have the towel rail on a separate isolator as well. If it is on a common isolator with the TV/bath, then the timer will lose it's power if you turn the isolator off, won't it? Really you want the TR isolator on all the time.

    I would expect your timer to look similar to your underfloor heating timer, and be located on the wall outside the room (but obviously not the same type).

    You will then end up with three isolators, plus, I presume, one for the extractor fan.

    Be careful with the loads. The towel rail will probably be quite high, and so might the bath pump be, so you need to be careful where the supply is taken from. Is it a new supply from the fusebox?0

    You should talk to an electrician about this really, this is bathroom electrics which are a special case and I believe are notifiable under PartP - you certainly need it signing off by an electrician.

    By the way - it's looking good!

    Hope that helps,
    MarkP
     
  5. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Thanks for your input MarkP80,

    I did actually get a sparky to do the electrics but it wasn't until after he'd gone I thought about having the towel rail on a timer.

    I do have a couple of spare rcd in the consumer box but it would mean running another mains cable from the box, which believe me is not an option due to jammed packed trunking.

    I think this Timeguard ETU 2000 should do the trick though. I'll leave the TV/Bath/Rail Isolator on all the time, and just have the rail on this timer unit. It also has a Boost function, which overides the program settings and switches on for 1 or 2 hours - which seems perfick.

    Kudos
     
  6. MarkP80

    MarkP80
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aberdoon!
    Ratings:
    +110
    - sounds good to me then, shouldn't be any concerns about the loads etc!

    Yep, leave it on all the time - it will be fine. Sounds like you have a plan.....

    MarkP
     
  7. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Well, well Mr Maplins was quick........

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: Found this at B&Q after all that........

    [​IMG]

    Kudos
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2009
  8. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    ...and the tiling continues.....

    [​IMG]

    ...and more tiling....

    [​IMG]

    ...and more tiling....

    [​IMG]

    Kudos
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  9. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Oh cables, you give me so much pleasure and so much pain (to hide) :rolleyes:

    [​IMG]

    Kudos
     
  10. wotsupnow

    wotsupnow
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks good, the idea reminds of a bowling alley at Heaton Mersey Manchester, the urinals in the gents have tvs behind glass built into the back wall, they are fed off cameras over the bowling lanes, you can stand spraying the bowlers on the screens..........

    Pete
     
  11. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    I've just ordered some Powermids and an extender cable from Keene. I'm going to have to find a way to have the extender cable discreetly available. Yay more cables in the bathroom!

    I noticed someone else on the forums put his IR receiver for a Win7MCE in the extractor fan hose. I don't think this will work for me because mine has the flaps which prevent blowback from outside.....

    Kudos
     
  12. Sanders79

    Sanders79
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Newbury
    Ratings:
    +1,996
    Looking very good so far! What have you planned for hiding those cables? A bit of simple boxing in (and tiles) or something more extravagant?

    Can I ask, what did you use to fix the tile backing boards to the walls and floor?
     
  13. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Thanks for the comments....

    The cables will be hidden quite easily (he says :rolleyes:). I used 10mm tile backing board against the wall with the cables and left gaps for the cables. This allows me to simply stick them to the bare wall and tile over. The thickest cable is about 6mm. So hopefully all will go well in that corner.

    As for attaching the tile backing boards, I used tile adhesive for the floor, the type suitbale for underfloor heating which is flexible.

    For the walls I used the large 36mm washers which you screw through to fix in place, see here: Marmox Board - Accessories

    Cheers,
    Kudos
     
  14. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    ....more tiling......will be tiling around the TV itself soon...



    [​IMG]



    Kudos
     
  15. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Used a roll of carpet to rest the tv on so I could keep it in place while tiling.



    [​IMG]



    Hope people aren't getting bored with my endless tiling pics, but it takes forever to cut and shape even with a wet tile saw, tile file etc...



    [​IMG]
     
  16. othien

    othien
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    wow absolutly great. good job! :clap:
     
  17. deansocial

    deansocial
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ripley,Derby
    Ratings:
    +49
    [​IMG]

    as said a pic of the tv i installed flush. The black around it is silicone to waterproof and can be cut if removal is needed
     
  18. deansocial

    deansocial
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ripley,Derby
    Ratings:
    +49
    [​IMG] bit further back
     
  19. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Nicely done Deansocial, are those proper stone tiles too?

    I was going to go for the stone tiles but at the last minute discovered these dirt cheap but very stone-looking ceramics from B&Q.

    Kudos
     
  20. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Well B&Q have run out of the tiles I need until next Tuesday so I knuckled down to some grouting.

    The floor is pretty easy to do.

    [​IMG]

    ...but the walls are a pig, smaller tiles and more awkward because it's vertical.

    My 150W towel rail element finally arrived but the flex is too short by about 30 cm :rolleyes:, so a sparky mate of mine has disassembled it and is going to re-solder a longer lead on to it.

    Got the towelrail holders up on the wall, took a while, the wall plugs that came with it are massive and I wall drilling through tiles into brickwork so hammer action had to be used (carefully).

    While I'm on the subject why does every wall plug instruction tell you to use a dill-bit that's far too small? I have never managed to get a wallplug in using the stated size drill bit, I find I always have to add 2mm to get the thing in - bizzare !

    [​IMG]

    I'm using floor grout for the walls too because SWMBO liked the floor colour so much , she didn't want a different colour on the walls. It's a sanded grout for large gaps and the walls have large gaps too so shouldn't be an issue, although it does take ages to do of course......

    [​IMG]

    Kudos
     
  21. deansocial

    deansocial
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ripley,Derby
    Ratings:
    +49
    you can get grouts that match colour wall and floor.

    The tiles were a rectified porcelain tile with 1mm spacers. Think they were £45sqm from memory minus discount of corse
     
  22. pablo_paul

    pablo_paul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birimingham
    Ratings:
    +19
    Am i the only one that enjoys tiling:rotfl: Cleaning the grout ups a nightmare though. Looking really good mate:thumbsup: The bathroom is my next job after the living rooms finished, second one in two years i must be mad.
     
  23. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    The powermids just turned up from Keene, plugged them in to test and all worked fine though there are a couple of issues.

    One, I didn't realise how big they are, someone on another forum said they were smaller than they expected but although they're not massive, they're certainly bigger than I was expecting.

    Two, this wouldn't have been an issue because I was planning to hide the unit and use an extender cable to pick up the signal in the bathroom, but it turns out that only the transmitter end has the input for the extender cable. I presumed incorrectly there would the option to use it on either end.

    So now I'll have to have an ugly black pyramid poking through the bathroom ceiling - unless anyone else has any ideas for me?

    EDIT: Hmm, from what I can tell, to get a neat receiver end, I'd have to use a wall plate like this Keene one which feeds the Keene IR amp IN, then the IR wand on the OUT would be placed (taped maybe) to a powermid, which would then relay the signal to the transmiter powermid then onto the Sky box. A bit costly though,

    Powermid £18
    Keene IR Amp £49
    Keene IR Wall Plate Receiver £25
    Total £92

    Kudos
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2009
  24. alz2605

    alz2605
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Degabah, Cymru
    Ratings:
    +352
    You're doing a cracking job Kudos. What are you planning to watch in the tub first mate?
     
  25. Leumas_10

    Leumas_10
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +167
    A TV in the bathroom is just PIMP!! :thumbsup: Looks like you're doing a great job so far mate, although looking at the time it's taking with all those tiles, I'm making a mental note to always buy the biggest tiles I can find :rotfl:.

    Sam
     
  26. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Very wise, very wise my man........:cool:

    Kudos
     
  27. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Well I watch Sky News every morning while I'm getting ready for work, but I'm looking forward to a long soak in a hot bath, with a glass of bubbly watching some good comedy TV I think :smashin:

    Kudos
     
  28. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    You guessed it, more tiling.......

    [​IMG]

    Kudos
     
  29. Sanders79

    Sanders79
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    4,460
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Newbury
    Ratings:
    +1,996
    Looking very good! Keep it up - we are all waiting with baited breath!

    What's the seal like around the tv between tv and wall? Does it come with some kind of a gasket, or do you have to seal with silicone (or do nothing??)?
     
  30. kudos2

    kudos2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +79
    Only the TV itself is completely sealed so I'll need to silicone seal around the TV when I'm ready.

    I'm making every effort to seal the inside the retaining box too, there's only four screw holes and then the large hole at the bottom where the cable poke through.

    In theory water shouldn't get to here because it's sealed but water always finds a way somehow! So, I'll find some way of sealing this hole to be on the safe side.

    I still have lot to do actually, I've got to build the stud wall at the end of the bathroom, this is going to have a couple of recess shelves in it for the bathroom bottles and remote control of course ;)

    Kudos
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice