Batch conversion, sub-dir's, MP3 to WMA

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by Monty Burns, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Bahrain
    Ratings:
    +140
    Hi Guys

    as the subject really. I need to convert a shed load of MP3's to WMA via a batch job however, to make this little complicated, all the MP3s are in the following directory structure:

    x:\Artist\album\artist-album-track no-track title.wma

    Are there any conversion tools that I can use that will process around 30gigs worth of MP3 to WMA and keep them in the same file name format? Ideally, i would be able to drag n drop x:\ into the prog and it would search all the subs.


    Thanks in advance!!!!
     
  2. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Just wondering why you want to convert from MP3 to WMA? I can't see any benefits?

    GoldWave can do batch processing. Lots of people use Audacity, [-]but I'm not sure if it can batch process[/-]. Yeah it does.
     
  3. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Bahrain
    Ratings:
    +140
    to stream to my X360.
     
  4. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    DB poweramp will do it.

    Just fire up a Windows search pane and search for *.mp3 within your X:\ drive

    Highlight them all with a CTRL+A, right click and choose convert using the context menu item that DB Poweramp creates when you install it.

    You can then choose whether to create the files in same directory/new directory and overwrite or create new files etc..

    NOTE: take a backup of you MP3's first though as one lossy to another lossy format conversion will make the quality even worse and you may regret doing it ;)
     
  5. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Bahrain
    Ratings:
    +140
    many thanks mate .... again !

    I think in future I will just PM a question to you direct, you seem to answer all mine anyway!:rotfl:
     
  6. abraxus

    abraxus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +216
    Monty, all my music is in mp3 and I stream it to my Xbox 360.

    What makes you think you need to covert it?
     
  7. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Bahrain
    Ratings:
    +140
    er .. i thought it would only do WMA! Are you saying it does more? If so, thats spanking :thumbsup:
     
  8. abraxus

    abraxus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +216
    No need to convert.

    Are you using Media Centre Extender to stream to your 360? If so just go into My Music and when it asks if you want to add files get it to point to the folder you store all your music in.

    It might take a while to compile a library though, depending on how much you have.

    If you don't use MCE the Media Player works much the same.

    In either case the 360 handles mp3's just fine.
     
  9. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,869
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Bahrain
    Ratings:
    +140
    cheers for that. I will be using a Windows Home Server (which is not MCE) but does I believe use extender devices.

    All should be good :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...