1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bass trap design?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by ArsoN, Jun 23, 2005.

1. ArsoN

ArsoN

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm gonna be starting work on my cinema in the next month or so, so I'm finalising my 3D sketches and I've hit a hurdle. I'm no acoustics expert, I've never dealt with anything like this before in my life (I have the basic down thanks to AVS forums). Now I was wondering, which design would be best (see attached pictures).

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

They would be filled with as much rigid fibreglass/rockwoll/whatever as I can squeeze in. I'm also open to other suggestions.

ArsoN.

2. mattym

mattym
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +101
    there is a principle that suggest the baest type of corner absorbor has a gap behind it and the corner, this allows the air movement to keep going through the absorbing material, i will try to find the article that i read that said that!

dont forget to check the powerbuys for corner basstraps, there are some in their at the moment....

3. mattym

mattym
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +101
    found it:

taken from this article

http://www.rpginc.com/news/interview2.htm

4. avanzato

avanzato

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +60
    The Square column is best from the designs pictured as it has the largest volume compared to the others.

Helmholtz or panel traps are the other most used designs. They're easy to design but they do have a reputation of not working in quite the way the theory suggests, when actually built. The modex traps in the power buys are panel (membrane) traps and being professionally built do work as advetised. Though from my experience you'll need about 6 of them to start with.

5. ArsoN

ArsoN

Products Owned: