Bass Speaker for Toshiba 37WLT58 ?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by Tempest, Mar 26, 2006.

Tags:
  1. Tempest

    Tempest
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +4,082
    I see in the menu's there's an option to use a external Bass Speaker for the Toshiba WLT58 LCD TV's

    Does anyone know the easiest and "CHEAPEST" option to achieve this add on?

    I guess I'm saying without buying anything "Official from Toshiba" as I assume this would mean BIG money.

    Can you just plug ANY self powered Bass speaker into this TV?

    Pro's/Cons?
     
  2. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any self-powered sub should be suitable.

    You can spend anywhere between £40 and several thousand pounds on one so you need to identify your budget and you also need to decide on the size that you can accomodate.

    Generally bigger is better but you don't want to over power the tele's speaker.

    RicherSounds have a selection

    Dave
     
  3. Tempest

    Tempest
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +4,082
    Thanks for this......

    Just had a look on the Tosh manual connections page.

    I'm a bit puzzled where the Sub connects to?
    It almost seems to be saying it plugs into the connections about the Componant video/audio inputs.........

    Can anyone identify the exact hole for me!
     
  4. Tempest

    Tempest
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +4,082
    The Gale Storm on their web site looks very interesting.

    Only problem is, it's just 15mm too tall for the space I could put it in :(
     
  5. wandersen

    wandersen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Use a wood plane ?
     
  6. Tempest

    Tempest
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +4,082
    Well, if it is indeed a wooden cabinet, and I REALLY wanted it, then yes, I would be tempted to buy one and get the jigsaw out, remove 15mm and screw the base back on.

    There must be some slack in the case size.
     
  7. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Next to the bottom component socket.

    Page 6 of the manual
     
  8. Tempest

    Tempest
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +4,082
    Thanks for that.

    Am I right in thinking below that (on page 6) are the left and right audio outputs for connecting to an audio amp?

    Then I could turn all TV sound off, and just have sound via these outputs to an amp?
     
  9. in2deep

    in2deep
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, that's right. The manual says to set the Speaker option in the menu to OFF, so that sound doesn't come from the TV, but goes out through the 2 phonos....
     

Share This Page

Loading...