• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Question Bass Management for 2.1 setup

Vivek B

Standard Member
Hi Guys

I am very new to the AVR thing and just today bought my Denon X4500H with Klipsch RP-8000F and Klipsch R 115SW. I was fiddling through the setup for speakers and bass management. The settings for bass management are LFE + Main and speaker size set to "Large" crossover frequency Denon default 80Hz. I guess the AVR is sending lows to towers as well? Probably thats the reason not much bass from the subwoofer?

I tried to find stuff on this in many threads but could not find the settings related to 2.1 setup.

First is it safe to play with these settings? Jumping between LFE, LFE +Mains (Small,Large) I guess no damage to any of the equipment?

I am not looking for much bass from my towers so is it wise to set speakers as "Small" and bass as LFE only crossover at 80Hz?

Thanks.

D

Deleted member 39241

You are not likely to damage anything by experimenting, unless you go crazy with the volume knob.

Any speaker set to large will play the full frequency range of any audio sent to that speaker.

Any speaker set to small will have the bass sounds redirected to the sub, if you have one, or the front mains (left and right speakers) if you don't.

The .1 LFE audio will be sent entirely to the sub if you have one, or to the front mains if you don't.

The crossover setting indicates where the AVR separates out the bass to send to the sub or fronts. It is a gradual slope though, not a dead stop.

Vivek B

Standard Member
@Rambles,

Thanks for your reply.