Basic question on video handling through AV receivers

A

alanfcross

Beginner here, so excuse me!
Looking at my first AV receiver, and trying to understand the spec for the Denon AVR-1705.
I presume 'assignable' component inputs means that you associate specific video inputs with specific audio inputs, and can shuffle then to suit without re-patching?
Am I right in saying that these boxes seldom or never convert one video format to another, eg S-video or RGB to component. So if you have mixture of source formats you're going to need several connections to the monitor, one for each format, and switch manually and separately. Can anyone confirm? Or externally convert everything to component before it hits the amp?
RGB does not get a mention with this unit. Is it assumed present, or is it not catered for? Can you just put RGB or component in to any of the 'component' inputs, and get out whatever you put in, or does it HAVE to be a component signal on the component inputs? I can't see that the unit will process the signals in any way (except if it is format converting) - is it just a simple switch that will switch whatever 1-volt signal you throw at it?

Perhaps there is a good FAQ someone can point me to, like the excellent on on DVDRs. Or perhaps a manufacturer's brochure that is clearer than the average?!

TIA.

The 1705 will simply pass whatever signal you have through with no conversion. The 1705 has s-video switching and component switching.

More expensive receivers do upconversion.

2105 has s-video up conversion
2805 has component up conversion

You would need multiple inputs, for example my amp has component connections which I connect to my pj with my dvd (which can send the yuv signal) but anything else is connnected via s-video. Which is very handy as I only have one s-video input on my pj whereas my amp has about 5.

This appears to be a simple guide.

[removed because seriously outdated] sorry