1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Basic CRT question

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Cmar-Ireland, Oct 6, 2005.

1. Cmar-Ireland

Cmar-Ireland

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have been using lcd projectors for a few years now, and have a vw10ht at the moment. But the home cinema bug has well and truly bitten so I keep looking to improve. So.... is it easy/a good idea to enter into the crt domain?

I understand that deal with difficult set up etc, but with crt's like the seleco 500 for around a grand, it just got me thinking...

Opinions please

Ta
    Ciaran

2. cosaw

cosaw

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hi Ciaran,

I've owned a CRT pj for a short while now. I've never had an lcd or had chance to compare but I opted for a CRT on the good advice from people in this forum. I have not been dissapointed. The images are filmic smooth and you don't see pixels (there aren't any!) - as far as I'm concerned its just like being in a small cinema the picture is easily comparable if you keep your room nice and dark just like at the cinema. It would seem in the most part you will gain in terms of contrast level just from the fact you'll probably be getting far better blacks.