Basic av setup suggestions

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by Gazaman, Sep 12, 2007.

1. Gazaman

Gazaman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +178
    Hi all
    I'm wanting to hang my lcd on the wall but due to room size/shape(and lack of knowledge) i am pretty short on options.
    Anyway below is an idea thati am considering which i think would look ok.
    I am a complete novice at this sort of thing so any suggestions or feedback would be appreciated.
    Points to note.
    The LCD will actually be on a arm bracket so it can be angled for all area visability.
    The wall will be built out using a wodden frame and plasterboard.
    All cavitys for av equipment will have downllights and i'm thinking of getting a light for behind the tv.
    Not 100% sure about the 2 gaps in the top(was gonna just stick a couple of downlights in for extra effect and to break up the bareness at the top).

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

When i have decided for sure how i want it i'll no doubt be back firing all sorts of questions at you guys.;)

Thanks alot
    Gaz

2. Gazaman

Gazaman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +178
    Really not sure about the openings at the bottom for sky+,360 etc so was thinking maybe some smoked glass or something(have nowhere else i can put my equipment)

[​IMG]

3. Osakan

Osakan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi, great sketchup!

Can I ask, why have you ruled out building the display into the chimney breast above the fire? Admittedly the higher screen location that putting it above the fire introduce is not great, but it may be better than squeezing it into the corner? There are lots of examples on here where you just put in a lintel towards the top of the chimney, and then mount the display in below that?