1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Barn Conversion

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by diesel, Jun 29, 2004.

  1. diesel

    diesel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hi everybody.
    I hope you don't mind but I wanted to post up details of my web site
    Barn Conversion

    Its a templated website but I'm not artistic enough to create my own :D

    You may wonder why I've posted on AVForums. The answer is easy. It's my desire for a dedicated home cinema room that is motivating the whole process.

    Once the build is underway, I will have lot's of questions about cabling for multi room AV as well as the cinema itself.

    I'll post some plans of the barn onto the site when I work out how to get a piece of A1 planning paper onto my scanner.

    Thanks

    Andy Brown
     
  2. Tonmeistermat

    Tonmeistermat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blackheath (UK)
    Ratings:
    +3
    Wow... good luck mate! Looking forward to seeing the developing home cinema!
     
  3. leon

    leon
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +67
    wow that looks an awsome project
    i wish you all the best with it .if i can help in any way just give me a shout .i have a loft company not that thats much use to you with no loft :)
     
  4. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey

    A man after my own heart....i too would love to do a barn conversion and have to say after years of looking have found nothing (at the right price!!!). I like your style/design idea's.

    Whats worse is that we only live 15 mins from wakefield..lol

    I own a data cabling company so if you need any advise on networking etc give me a shout!!

    Good Luck
    Chris
     
  5. diesel

    diesel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +57
    Thanks Guys.

    CWOJ there is another barn adjacent to the one I'm buying that is now back up for sale.

    If you're interested I can PM you my number and let you have the details.

    Thanks

    AB
     
  6. doink

    doink
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd love to get my teeth into something like that!!... well jealous mate, there's nothing like the feeling of sitting down to dinner in a house you've rebuilt yourself.
     
  7. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Andy

    Yes please that would be great!!
     
  8. Tesla

    Tesla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Have you contacted any TV companies.

    I'm sure they would at least show some interest in your project and i guess it will give a bit of income to go towards your home cinema kit!
     
  9. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Looks good matey.

    Don't forget to plan for things like lighting control. Well worth adding.

    Keep us all updated. :smashin:
     
  10. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I've just (nearly) completed a similar project. While we didn't go for anything like a contemporary interior (Maple shaker kitchen is as rad as we got), it's brilliant once your in.

    In terms of wiring, a bit of advice. You need to plan it all very early. If you have builders in, they will want to get first fix electrics in quite early on, certainly caught me out. So, you need to really sit down and put some thought into what you need and how you want to acheive it. Also, you may find that some builders/ electricians etc. are a little sceptical of your crazy plans. I've heard 'Surely all you need is a phone line to your computer innit?' so you really need to push to make sure they understand what you want/

    I also built in ducting under the floors (3" drain pipe) that can be used for running audio cables around the main room. I put an inspection tile near each speaker and the effect is a wireless system where I can change the cables if I want.

    I plan to post some pictures of my 'cinema' at some point. I had a different breif. No dedicated room so I wanted to make the 30' living room a cinema that could be 'dissapeared' very easilly as I find lots of audio gear stressful.

    Good luck. Our timescale was 5 months and after a year, we are in.
     
  11. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    All the best for your project mate, looks like a stressfull one, but then I am sure you will appreciate it more at the end if you do it all yoursel.

    Also why the nick Diesel with an M3? ;)
     
  12. diesel

    diesel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +57
    Cos I once filled a Yammy R6 with Diesel :eek:
    and the name just stuck :D :D

    Thanks for the advice guys. My pal is an electrician and we are designing the first fix before anything else :clap:

    The 3" pipe is a very good idea. Did you fill it with draw wires?

    Chers

    AB
     
  13. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    No, the lengths were only about 6m max which I was able to push wiring through. It's a bit akkard once you get a few wires down to add others so I usually pull them all out, add another to the group and shove them all down again. Ferrets would have been a good idea.
     
  14. Tesla

    Tesla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    940
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Maybe a good idea to lay some draw wires/string for how much it would cost.

    £1 for a ball of string?
     
  15. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Andy...sorry about the other day on the phone. I will call you tom some time.

    Ref the cables, its better to lay channel with proper draw wire are strigs gets snapped and leads to a whole world of fustration :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...