1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Barco Graphics 808 vs Data 801s

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by supersub, Jan 17, 2005.

1. supersub

supersub
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all,
    i'm a newbie at crt and have a BD 801s at the moment, it seems well set up with an iscan pro line doubler, the image i think is very good, i've been offered an BG808 but it's got 35000 hrs on it although it does seem to be in good condition the hours run seem high, is the image that much better through the 808, as i've never seen an 808 in action is it worth changing.

2. ispra

ispra
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dunno, but I have a Data 801s too. Tell me does the line doubler make a real improvement to the image?

3. Boris Blank

Boris Blank

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +161
    I made this exact same move (from a BG801s to a BG 808). The picture from an 808 will be noticably sharper than the 801s. The 801s is likely to be newer than the 808 (the manufacture date will be stamped alongside the serial number) and the electronics slightly better. You should be able to get a higher resolution from the 808 than the 801 (roughly 1280*720 compared to 1024*720, the difference is again noticeable)

Personally I'd go with the 808 as long as the tubes are of a similar condition to that of the 801s. If the 808 tubes are in a worse condition then I'd think twice about it.

Paul

4. ispra

ispra
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    PaulB,
    Can you confirm that with a DVI to VGA D/A Video Converter with HDCP from DTronics (which you flagged up in a previous thread) I will be able to get HD 1024x720 from of my Data 801s using my Mac which has a DVI output.