1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

barco Graphics 808 G2 with new MEC tubes

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by barcoguy, Jul 8, 2004.

  1. barcoguy

    barcoguy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey
    I am having some trouble getting the g2 LED to completely go out while adjusting G2. I have new or rebuilt or whatever they are MEC tubes so I dont want to cook them. Please let me know what I should do. Also I am looking for an install manual, and I am having some trouble getting the blue to have to have as sharp of a focus ad the others.
    Thanks
    Nick
     
  2. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Let me get this right you have bought a set of tubes and fitted them. but have no idea how to set the projector up :eek:

    I hope your fire insurance is up to date.

    Did the lights go off ok with the old tubes?
     
  3. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. barcoguy

    barcoguy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey,
    thanks for that site, I have switched out tubes on a sony 1271q before, I just replaced what was there, judging by your response, I have probably done something wrong. The picture looks very sharp, I could just see some areas that could use some improvement. Also the G2 LEDs flicker some. I used a barco owners manual to adjust it. Please let me know what else I need to do.
    Thanks so much
    Nick
     
  5. barcoguy

    barcoguy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    On the old tubes the blue and the green were extremely burned in the shape of a computer logo that ran on it all the time. The machine only has 6500 hours on it.
    Thanks again
    Nick
     
  6. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. barcoguy

    barcoguy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey
    thanks alot BrianCurran I will review all that info and it will put me in the right direction I am sure. What I did was basically just measured from the positions of the parts on the old tubes and did the same. I am sure this will greatly improve the image.
    Thanks
    Nick
     
  8. secstate

    secstate
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    When adjusting the G2 you need to turn the pots VERY slowly if you go to fast the LEDs will never go out. It drove me insane the first time I attempted it. It has to be almost inperceptibly slow. Also don't forget you need to go into the service menu and go into the G2 adjustment mode before doing this. Also if these are VDC rebuilds be sure to age them 100 or so hours at 30% brightness/contrast before full use. Also VDC greens are the most problematic so keep an eye open for phosphor drop outs.
     
  9. BrianCurran

    BrianCurran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0
    secstate

    Welcome to the avforums. :hiya:

    Regards
     
  10. secstate

    secstate
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! I found it googling for surplus Barcos. There actually seem to be a lot more Barco owners in Europe than in North America so the discussions here are to some degree more in line with my interests than avsforum.
     

Share This Page

Loading...