1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Barco Data 801s / Dscaler

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by cosmic023, Jan 12, 2004.

  1. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Hi All,

    Just having a problem........that i need your help on.

    I've now connected my HTPC to the 801, everything seems great....but there is a problem.

    Theres a white line down the right hand side of the screen (Left as you look into the PJ on all 3 lenses)

    I've got my Sony DVD connected via s-video to the TV-Card (PB-TV100) and then this goes to the port3 connector on the PJ via the VGA socket on the video card. (GF4 MX440 - will be upgrading to a Radeon 9200 128MB card in a few days.)

    As i've already posted in the 'cabling problems' thread, my current GF4 card doesn't like Powerstrip, and i'm stuck with a reso. of 1024x768 @ 60hz refresh, neg.sync.

    The point is.......is this line being burnt onto the faces of the CRT's ?? What can i do to stop it ??

    Is their any other temp. way of sorting it for now ?? Or should i hold out and wait for the Radeon card ?? What's the best res to use with this projector ??

    If you've got this far your doing well !!, and i'll be happy if anyone out there can give me some help on this problem.....

    Cheers

    Cosmic023

    Edit: Well blanking to rid of the line problem. DOH !! I Feel so silly on that one :clown: But at least it's got rid of one problem.

    Oh and the other thing was changing tv-standards, does it do it automaticaly ?? Because if i feed in a region1 disk, the TV-Card gets in a mess and you have to manualy select it in dscaler.
     
  2. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Answered your own thread. Any static image has the pottential to begin burning a CRT.
    Blanking will get rid of the sort of image you were seing which typically would be lost in the over scan area.
     
  3. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Thanks Roland, but it was worth a try............ :D

    Still need to try different resolutions / refresh rates to suit PJ.

    What do you recommend ?? Anyone know how to upscale iin dscaler ?? Managed to get a 1024x768 picture but no bigger ??

    Any thoughts ??

    Cheers

    Cosmic023
     
  4. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    800x600 is what I would suggest for an 800/801 in 16x9 mode. Any more and the image will go soft as the scan lines over lap
     
  5. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Great, Thanks Roland.........

    I've been using this res. (800x600 @72) most of the weekend, and it looks great, but i'm sure it could be tweaked even better !!
     
  6. rob_w

    rob_w
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to add, I've got a data800 and get the best results with 720/480 @ 72Hz for R1 and 720/576 @75Hz for R2

    I use a stretched 800/600 for games, or 1024/576 if the game will accept it.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  7. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    Nice one Rob, i'll give that a try next time i've got the HTPC fired up.

    All i need to do now is build a 16:9 screen, and hang the PJ to reclaim my floor space ;)

    Cheers

    Cosmic023
     
  8. rob_w

    rob_w
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tell me about it - I've had half a fridge sitting in the middle of my front room for 9 months now :D

    Rob
     
  9. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    That's one way of putting it !! :D
     
  10. chrisgeary

    chrisgeary
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newbury
    Ratings:
    +175
    makes a great coffee table though doesn't it!
     
  11. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +3
    Bet it doesn't keep your beer warm
     
  12. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +87
    But a CRT projecter WOULD keep your beer warm !! :D
     
  13. GagHalfrunt

    GagHalfrunt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    522
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    North Cotswolds
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hell, I must learn how to type :rotfl:
     

Share This Page

Loading...