Barco Data 800, tubes not firing

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by QueBarco, Feb 27, 2014.

  1. QueBarco

    QueBarco
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, for a while my Barco Data 800 had to be tried a few times on power-up to get the tubes to fire, but now the tubes aren't firing at all. I wondred if anyone has had any similar issues and if it's a reasonabley simple procedure to diagnose and fix?
     
  2. hati

    hati
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    508
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cold and distant corner of EU
    Ratings:
    +103
    Sounds like you could have blown capacitor, I would open the lid and try to see if there are any that are bulging at top instead of being flat.
     
  3. audimushroom

    audimushroom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +100
    There are a number of possible reasons.
    Can you see if you have any red lights from the boards?
    Does the unit power on and the fans run?
     
  4. QueBarco

    QueBarco
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, fans all run, afaics the unit is powering up okay although I can't test any of the HV lines because I'm a bit nervy of KV and I don't have any kit which goes to that voltage. Can't see any red lights on the daughterboards, nor any visible problems. I suspected myself it could be a Cap. on the EHT board, but I really have no idea how to go about testing them and I'd rather not have to buy a load of Caps and replace them to find out that wasn't the fault. I assume if I tested it with low voltage (i.e. battery), a Cap. will not feed any power if it's totalled?
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2014

Share This Page

Loading...