1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Barco 808 Questions

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by dealmaker, May 3, 2001.

1. dealmaker

dealmaker
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Having heard how great the 808 is I'm now considering an upgrade from my VW10HT.

However I have a couple of really fundamental questions apologies if there obvious but I'm new to the CRT thing:

1) Do the 808's lenses/ controls have a zoom function? i.e can you alter the size of the projected image without moving the projector - my VW10HT can be mounted anywhere within a 2'6" range and still achieve the desired screen size - in other words is the screen to projector distance an exact science?

2) Following on from the above - I have a VUTECH 16:9 screen - 8 feet wide - 1.3 gain
    is this a suitable screen for CRT ????and.....

how far away from the screen will the 808 have to be to fill it????? I've got a finite amount of space.

Many thanks.

2. Roland @ B4

Roland @ B4

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +32
    Dealmaker
    there are no zoom lenses availbe for any CRT projectors regardless of manufacturer.

Typically a CRT projector needs to be between x1 an x1.5 the screen width away.The distance will vary between makes.

Your screen is perfect for CRT.

For an 8ft wide screen your Barco 808 projector needs to be 11ft 3inch from the screen (measured to the front pannel)
    Front pannel to back of projector = 3ft 2inch

hope that helps

3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,004
    Just to add to B4's comment.

There is adjustment for horizontal and vertical size of the image being produced on the tube face. This allows a little electronic leaway, although nothing like the Sony's.....