1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Barco 708 crt projectors

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by fatrich, Aug 9, 2001.

  1. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Hi<br />Does any one out there own or had experience's of one of these projectors.I'am thinking of getting a used one from a recommended source but i personally have no knowledge of it.I Have faith in the guy who will be suppling and installing it.it is just back ground information i'am lacking, it doesn't come with a line doubler but i have an iscan will this suffice?The dvd player is a pioneer 737 does this set up sound ok?

    look forward to any response.

    richard
     
  2. Blade

    Blade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I saw Jenz's previous CRT which was a Barco 708Multimedia. It was a fine projector sending a nice clear image that at the time was about 7ft wide.

    He was using an HTPC into the Barco at 800x600@72hz. Your setup will probably give you a very nice picture but would be improved if you went to an HTPC that could hit the sweet spot of the Barco. Is that an option?
     
  3. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    cheers blade and chris

    Chris i get a good gut feeling about roland i will be giving him a call next monday to sort something out, do you mind me asking is you dvd fed directly into your projector and do you find you need a line doubler or does your 708 come with built in line doubler.

    thanks again

    richard
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    Richard, Chris's 737 has an internal line doubler. He also seems to have an internal one (the limo) and an external one (the iscan).

    I'd suggest that to avoid line structure a de-interlacer/doubler would be a good option with a 708. The Iscan should give excellent results for minimal cost.

    Gordon
     
  5. ATUL

    ATUL
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another projector you should consider looking into is Sony G70.
     
  6. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
     
  7. Operandi

    Operandi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Richard

    I have not got an IScan. My 708 has an inbuilt line doubler, but I believe that this is bypassed when I feed it with a progressive signal directly from the Pioneer 737. When fed an interlaced signal from the 737 I believe that it utilises the inbuilt line doubler/deinterlacer.

    Others on this forum (Gordon, B4 etc) are better qualified than me to tackle this question technically. All I know, for sure, is that I connect the 737 directly to the component inputs on the 708, sit back and marvel at the quality of the picture! I can see line structure on the picture from about 1 foot away, but as I keep banging the wine glass on the screen, I try and sit a bit further back....

    I've just come back from the cinema (got roped into watching Jurassic Park III - a load of ****) so I'm just about to turn on the 708 to see how it compares. Should be interesting.

    Hope this helps (from a non techie!)
     
  8. Operandi

    Operandi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think my 708mm was the one that Jenz used as I believe that Roland exchanged it for an 808. I use the Pioneer 737 with it now and it gives a great picture. I think the IScan would be helpful for non DVD sources although the Lido seems to work well. I didn't want to go the HTPC route from the ease of use perspective but I imagine that one would give a superb picture with the 708.
     
  9. Operandi

    Operandi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Richard

    I watched R2 StarShip Troopers on my 737/708 setup after posting here last night. I didn't mean to watch the whole film, merely wanted to see how this compared with the cinema. After spending a while looking at the blacks, the shadow detail, natural colours etc I soon got forgot about all the hardware and became immersed in the film. Couldn't turn it off and enjoyed every minute of it.

    This is the first time that I have compared THE cinema with MY cinema and what I have created after all this effort is every bit as good, if not better on every criteria - picture quality, filmic experience, involvement, sound. If you achieve this with the 737/708 setup like I have done, then you are as lucky as I am. I really think that this is the way to go, particularly on your budget, and you would struggle to do better.
     
  10. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Chris<br />i too went to see jurassic park 111 the other night and it was poo !!!

    Thanks for your comments they are appreciated the only way to get a proper review is from people with gear, i think i will go for the 708 that roland is offering and use my 737 and my iscan unit rather then get an internal line doubler fitter it makes for financial sense does any one know if the barco internal line doubler is better than the iscan?

    thanks

    richard
     
  11. Gee

    Gee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +5
    Fatrich,

    Just spotted a second hand Sony G70 on <a href="http://www.loot.com" target="_blank">www.loot.com</a> for £2000 ono, might be worth a look!

    Matt. <img src="smile.gif" border="0">
     
  12. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  13. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice combo

    I use a BD800 via a Quadscan fed by a 737's component output - Stunning picture.

    <img src="wink.gif" border="0">
     
  14. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
     
  15. nfordenfield

    nfordenfield
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    Messages:
    625
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
     

Share This Page

Loading...