1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bananes with A32

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by OrangeHifi, Jun 19, 2005.

  1. OrangeHifi

    OrangeHifi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    I want to use the QED XT-400 ls-cable, with my FMJ A32 integrated.

    They have QED airlocks (bananes). Is it possible to use bananes with the ls-terminals of the A32. The manual only mentions spades.
     
  2. ruben20

    ruben20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    The a32 is only capable of accepting BFA bananas. For instance, the nordost z plugs are possible. Normal bananas like wbt's is not possible.
     
  3. OrangeHifi

    OrangeHifi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hallo, een landgenoot........

    Dus de airlocks van Qed zou moeten kunnen?
     
  4. ruben20

    ruben20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Geen idee, die pluggen ken ik niet. Je kan altijd even audiac mailen. Die weten het zeker.
     
  5. OrangeHifi

    OrangeHifi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok, maar m.a.w. wat zijn BFA pluggen?

    (Gebruik jij trouwens spades of pluggen?)
     
  6. ruben20

    ruben20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
  7. OrangeHifi

    OrangeHifi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok back in English. I am still not sure if QED airlocks are possible. Maybe others here know?

    I know htforum, but i am a member of www.hififorum.nl
     
  8. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,237
    The A32 will accept standard 4mm banana plugs as well as QED airloc plugs, only some of the older products had BFA sockets.
     
  9. OrangeHifi

    OrangeHifi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks very much for ur answer. :thumbsup:

    I now know i can order a QED XT-300 cable fitted with airlocs. (I know that bare wires is the best, but then u have the risk of corrosion and it's less comfortable by changing speakers etc.)
     
  10. ruben20

    ruben20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    That's a first for me too. Oh well, never too old to learn.. Mine is a bit older then, sounds great anyway..

    Nice tuner you've got there orange..
     
  11. OrangeHifi

    OrangeHifi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    The T31 is a really very good tuner. I listen radio a lot so.......

    I see that you have the cd33. I am planning to replace my Diva cd73 by the new cd36 upsampling player. But first i am planning to buy new speakers. I think the Dynaudio Contour 3.4. or Totem Forrests.
     
  12. ruben20

    ruben20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    I also updated from cd 73 to cd 33. In one word, WOW...

    I'm also selecting new speakers. I'm auditing the new sonus fabers domus series soon at home. Going for the concertino's since an standmount is preferred.
     
  13. Hifi addict

    Hifi addict
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    why don't we continue the htforum discussion here ;)
     
  14. ruben20

    ruben20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    Because this isn't the topic for it.

    Which discussion do you mean anyway?
     
  15. JayBeeS3

    JayBeeS3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Leiden. Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0
    well hello!

    three fellow Arcam owners from Gloggyland.

    My A22 also has BFA connectors btw.

    and I am also thinking of upgrading my CD player to the 33 or 36....

    any ideas on the improvement compared to my current 82?
     
  16. ruben20

    ruben20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    hi jaybee. You can also open a thread on our own forum ;)..

    For me the cd 33 was a huge step forward. Surely the best upgrade in my setup ever. I used to play with the cd 73. When i bought the cd 33 the differences did not seem to be so big. Over time, when the player burnt in, it really came alive. Great staging, lovely warmth en detail in the sound. This player is not leaving my home in the near future, that's for sure. Combined with the A32, a killer combination. I think your current cd 82 is more comparable to the cd73, although somewhat beter. The cd 33 is another class. The early signals indicate that the cd 36 is again a step forward. Very curious to audit it sometimes. How about you buy it, we can do a shootout.

    grtz Ruben.
     
  17. Hifi addict

    Hifi addict
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    stop it ruben ;) you're making it unbearable for me to wait for my CD33 to arive ;)
    only 1 1/2 week to go :D
     
  18. ruben20

    ruben20
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    ha ha.. will it clear customs at once??? :D
     
  19. Hifi addict

    Hifi addict
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    that's why it takes so long. I am bypassing customs ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...