Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

baffling network

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by bazkav, Dec 24, 2004.

  1. bazkav

    bazkav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +27
    can anyone shed some light on this for me please
    I have 3 pcs networked together, through a router.
    they should all be able to share files and drives with each other, and 2 of them can, but the 3rd pc can not have it's shared files opened by the other 2 but it can access their shared files.
    This was not always the case it has only stopped granting access 4 weeks ago.
    I started the affected pc in safe mode and logged on as the administrater then the other pcs could see the shared files, but once logged on as normal again back to where we were.
    Any help wuold be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    What operating systems are we talking about here?
     
  3. bazkav

    bazkav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +27
    All on windows xp
     
  4. Rob100

    Rob100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +227
    They joys or a peer to peer network. It's probably one of 2 things....

    1) Passwords. Check that all PC's have user accounts for all users and all passwords for each user are the same on each PC. This is the great thing about running with a domain controller (all passwords are managed from one central point). So for example if you have 2 users called Fred and John, check these accounts exist on both machines and that the password for Fred is the same on all and the password for John is the same on all. Remember passwords are case sensitive. Don't use blank passwords either as XP doesn't like this.

    2) Check your firewall settings. SP2 firwewall disables file/print sharing by default. Suggest to prove the point that you switch all off the firewall on all network cards.

    Rob.
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,489
    Does it give you an error when trying to access that computer ?
     
  6. bazkav

    bazkav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +27
    It gives the following error message

    F on computer (or which ever share I try to access) is not accesible you might not have permission to use this network resource contact the administrator of the server to fing out if you have access permissions.

    Not enough server storage is available to process this command.
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,489
    I had that error when I installed a Norton AV product onto one of my computers. Do you have Norton on this ?
     
  8. bazkav

    bazkav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +27
    yes, do you think I should uninstall norton?
     
  9. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,489
    No need to uninstall, you can get rid of it by editing something in the registry if you are confident enough to do it.

    Before doing this regedit session make a backup of registry/create a restore point.
    You need to edit the following registry entry on the computer with Norton on:-

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\LanmanServer\Parameters]

    Over the right hand side is a value called:

    IRPstackSize

    It will be set to some value between 4 - 12 (in decimal) - mine was set to 11. Edit the IRPstackSize key and delete the numeric VALUE (not the key).

    Reset all the computers and now all shared folders are accessible.
     
  10. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,722
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,489
    For some reason it keeps putting a space in the word "services" above. Note that there is no space there.
     
  11. bazkav

    bazkav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +27
    uninstalled norton (did not use it anyway) problem solved cheers for the help, much appreciated happy xmas!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice