Badr 4(26.0e) on Motorised Dish

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by cemist, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. cemist

    cemist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi,

    Just installed a motorised system comprising the following,

    Installation area - Anglesey.

    Technomate TM5402 receiver
    Technomate 80cm Dish
    Technomate TM-2600 Super motor

    I can get the majority of the satellites using USALS, but the puzzling one is Badr 4. On Badr 4 frequency 12226H 27500(Bahrain TV etc) i can get a good signal, however when i try 12182H 16200 there is not a good signal.

    If i nudge the dish once to the east using disecq 1.2 move fine then 12182H channel signal is good but then 12226H is bad and needs a nudge to the west, in essence i cannot have good signals on both frequencies. Anyone have an idea what could be the cause.

    Thanks
     
  2. cemist

    cemist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi,
    Just tried adjusting my longitude using USALS by 0.1 degree to the west and now i have a good signal on all the channels i mentioned above. Can't get anything from the MBC channels though.
     
  3. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,065
    What Quality numbers are you getting on Dubai One / BBC World/ Kuwait 2/ Bahrain 55/ EBS. & any 7w?

    You've done well with an TM 80 on Anglesey to get Badr- the TM5402HD will have helped there - very sensitive tuners- we usually use 88 or larger there to give some rain margins.
     
  4. cemist

    cemist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks pedro, i've been reading a lot of your posts on here and they are interesting and helpful.

    The first satellite that i can get is 16e, anything further west is blocked by a building. I am going to install the dish higher up which will hopefully allow acces to further satellites.

    Longitude : 4.4W 53.3N

    Signal Quality:
    11938 V 27500 49%
    11958 H 27500 53%
    11977 V 27500 - No Lock
    11996 H 27500 - No Lock
    12015 V 27500 48%
    12034 H 27500 - No Lock
    12054 V 27500 - No Lock
    12073 H 27500 - No Lock
    12092 V 27500 48%
    12182 H 16200 48%
    12226 H 27500 52%
    12245 V 27500 53% Only if moved west, then other frequencies won't lock.

    I can't get Tring on 16e to lock either. Have just bought an Inverto Black Lnb but not installed yet, would this improve my signals?. The current Lnb is Technomate TM-1 Super. Also the position of current LNB in collar is as near to the dish as possible, when further back the signals for badr 4 are poor.

    Thanks
     
  5. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,065
    If you could modify the LNB holder & feed arm so it can all move nearer to the dish face by 5-10mm then re focus- used to do that a lot but the Black Ultra's long neck should do that anyway [not always].

    Are you using the on screen motor control - [3rd button up from bottom right on remote].

    I would have thought you'd be OK on 16e- check your arc ...what is it btw.. what sats.

    moving around Badr 4 is normal on smaller dishes - you can add a new sat or 2 just for that so have 2 or 3 positions.

    the MBC movie channels are the main ones to get & those I listed.
     
  6. cemist

    cemist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Will try the Inverto Black Ultra soon.

    Yes.

    I can get 16e(not all channels), the strong sats from 19.2 to 45e work well with hellassat 83% quality. Will check arc when i move the dish higher for more sats. Maybe i may need a bigger dish to get 16e and 26e properly.

    Ok.

    Thanks.
     
  7. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,065
    Could you measure the reflector face - width x height minus any raised area of the rim.

    it might be a bit under an 80 too
     
  8. cemist

    cemist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    The dish is approx: 73cm W x 78cm H.
     
  9. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +398
    Thats actually not to bad, mine is 80 cm tall & 74 cm wide.
     
  10. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,065
    so you really have done well :smashin:- that is just 73cm by the offset measure or 75.5cm by the area measure -
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice