1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backing up dvd collection

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by MrFurious, Sep 2, 2004.

  1. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,492
    just a quick question,if your dvd rom is set to region2 and you want to backup,burn,decrypt a region one dvd,should it work,mine only seems to like r2 now,every r1 burn process fails? :cool:
     
  2. H4r7y

    H4r7y
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive done a few backups, mainly region 2 stuff though. i did try to do a region 1 disc though recently and windows asked me if i wanted to change the region of my pc, but it did say i only 2 changes left?! i dunno what it meant but i kept it region 2 anyways.
    but why would you want to keep the region? wouldnt you prefer to make it region free? so youd be able to play on r2 players etc?
     
  3. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,492
    the problem i have is that the dvd rom drive is permanently set to region2 so i think it has problems backing up a region one.
     
  4. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    I usually use dvdshrink to back up my dvd's but that only usually allows you to back up either region 0 or the region specific to your dvd drive. To overcome this I use dvd decrypter which removes all the region encoding and allows me to copy to my hard drive. I then use dvdshrink to burn to disc from the hard drive file I have just created. Takes about 15 mins longer but it works for me :) You could alternatively find a firmware hack for your dvd drive to make it region free.
     
  5. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,492
    hawklord i use the exact same system as you,first of all dvd dycrypter into a certain file,then dvd shrink which leads to the burning phase,it encodes the whole dvd which you see it a little box with a scrolling bar which says how much time is left,its once it goes to burning phase that the whole thing fails on region 1 discs,mjust be because its set to region 2 on the dvd rom.
     
  6. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    If the file on your har drive is decrypted it shouldn't matter what region your drive is :confused:
    I have no issues backing up any region atall using the method I have decribed.
    I'd make sure you've got the latest version and try again:)
     
  7. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,492
    its strange,i thought it wouldnt matter,it used to burn all regions,but now as soon as it burns the lead in phase it fails,and only with r1????very wierd.i use dvd decrypter and dvd shrink 3.1,is there a newer dvd shrink?
     
  8. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    my dvd decrypter is version 3.5 and dvdshrink is 3.1 :D
     
  9. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    Use AnyDVD in the ripping process and you wont have a problem. You need to both remove the region encryption when ripping and burning - which AnyDVD does.
     
  10. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,492
    where can i get anydvd from,
     
  11. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
  12. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,492
    ahh,but its quite expensive...the free version only last 20 days
     
  13. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,424
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    What's the make and model of your drive . I'm sure there will be a firmware hack to make it region free somewhere:)
     
  14. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,261
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,492
    i,ll have to check it out,its not branded on the front panel.
     
  15. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    £23 expensive? Trust me, its worth every penny.

    Ive tried DVDRegionFree, Region Killer, DVDGenie, Remote Selector - none of these I have found to be as efficient and bug free as AnyDVD.
     
  16. CENSORED

    CENSORED
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Smartripper to decrypt and rip. DVD2One to re-encode, Nero to burn. Works without fail every time.
     
  17. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,118
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5,911
    The problem is that your DVD drive is locked to Region 2 so you cant playback or decrypt anything but Region 0/2, trust me I have been burning DVDs for nearly 2 years and have come across this problem more than once.

    To get around this either install and run DVD Region Free which will allow you to playback and decrypt any DVD no matter the Region, or set your DVD Writer to Region 1 and your DVD Rom to Region 2 so you will have a drive for each Region, this way you wont use up the Region changes on either drive and will be able to rip easily. The last thing would be to get a firmware hack for your dvd-rom drive which would make it Region Free but this can go wrong and if it does you will be left with a duff drive.
     

Share This Page

Loading...