Backing up data?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by ineedamonk, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. ineedamonk

    ineedamonk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +153
    Hi guys, planning on selling my 360 S 250gb. Only thing is I'll probably be buying one again in future so don't know what to do with regards to saving my data (game saves) so I can wipe the HDD prior to selling.

    Are game saves saved to a cloud now or do I need to manually copy them to another storage device? Cheers!
     
  2. m1ket

    m1ket
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +332
    I think you need tyo move them to the 'cloud' storage device whihc is created when you set it up

    I think its 512mb.... i recommend just uploading the latest save for each game

    One thing ive not worked out yet is as cloud saves are gold only what happens if you goto to silver are these deleted from the cloud....

    The other sure fire way would be to copy the saves onto a usb stick and keep that as the xbox can use a usb stick as a memory device for saves!
     
  3. ineedamonk

    ineedamonk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +153
    Don't have a USB flash drive, would an external HDD work if I just plugged that into the USB?
     
  4. m1ket

    m1ket
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +332
    Yes but the xbox formats it and restricts the xbox part to 8gb or 16gb i think (you may also lost whats on the hdd already). havnt done it for a long time so cant remember!

    I know you can reformat the hdd afterwards when finished with the saves to its original aize as i did that afterwards
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  5. ineedamonk

    ineedamonk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +153
    Losing what's already on the external HDD isn't an option as it's 1TB and half full as I use it for PC backups etc.
     
  6. DJSigma

    DJSigma
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,896
    Rather than formatting the entire device, you can choose anywhere from 1-16GB of space to set aside on it for use as a 360 storage device. Plug it into the console, go to Storage, click on the drive, then choose the Customise option and move the slider to choose how much space you want to configure and then press A.
     
  7. ineedamonk

    ineedamonk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +153
    Ah thought that might be an option somehow. Will give it a go later, thanks!
     
  8. DJSigma

    DJSigma
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,896
    Thinking about it, that's probably not going to work as your 1TB drive is likely formatted to NTFS.

    What you would probably need to do is create a FAT32 partition on the drive first. There's a number of free apps available on the web to do that.
     
  9. ineedamonk

    ineedamonk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +153
    Yeah just plugged it into the xbox and both options will result in formatting the whole thing. Will try the FAT32 partition.

    EDIT: Most partition programs seem to need to format the whole HDD so don't really want to risk losing what's already on it. Put everything on the cloud but a bit worried about what'll happen when my gold subscription runs out.:rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  10. alan280170

    alan280170
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    9,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aberdeen/The Woodlands TX
    Ratings:
    +4,230
    Or if you have a USB stick say 4GB and you have 20GB of data, just manually back up 5 times and store it on your laptop. I always put a back up on a stick and on my laptop.:smashin:
     
  11. Dinky Dragon

    Dinky Dragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke - Dao's Zen Grotto
    Ratings:
    +347
    And how are you transferring these to your computer hmmm? :p

    PS revealing that would be breaking rules :D
     
  12. DJSigma

    DJSigma
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,896
    I don't see how it's breaking any rules.

    All of the data is stored on a hidden folder on the USB stick. Plug it into your PC, enable the viewing of hidden files/folders, then you'll see the folder and you can copy it to your hard drive.

    @ineedamonk - Try GParted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice