Back to AGP for a while?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Syfer, Mar 29, 2006.

  1. Syfer

    Syfer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +99
    Hi folks,

    Ok, I have a puzzler that maybe you can help with?

    My current system is:

    ASUS P4GPL-x
    P4 3.0 Northwood @ 3.6
    2GB DDR400
    X850XTPE

    I know that I need a CPU & Mobo upgrade but with all the hype about new sockets & CPU's etc I am kinda reluctant to do so atm.

    I do however still have my old gaming rig from a couple of years ago, this consists of:

    ASUS SK8N Socket 940 Mobo
    Opteron 142
    4GB HP DDR266 ECC REG RAM

    I have now got my hands on an Opteron 250 socket 940 CPU. This will fit straight in my ASUS board above but of course the board has an AGP slot and not a PCI-X.

    My question is: Would it be worth me trading my card (X850XTPE PCI-X) for a 7800gs or AGP version of my card & using it in the above system until the new cards, CPU's & sockets arrive?

    Bear in mind this should not cost me much as its only the card swap that I need & would also help stave off the upgradeitis for now.

    Thanks,

    Scott
     
  2. semiskimmed

    semiskimmed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +259
    if it wont cost you anything, its a no brainer to go for the 7800GS mate.
    as for the cpu upgrade thing, theres NEVER a good time to upgrade, but i wouldnt lose any sleep on the next amd cpu's BUT the new intel conroe's seem to be a very hot topic at the moment but time will tell if they really are the next gen gaming cpu's
     
  3. Syfer

    Syfer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +99
    I was given the Opteron 250, I was going to put it in the ASUS SK8N with the 4GB RAM & upgrade my old Proliant file server. But then I got to thinking about how good the rig used to be with my old 6800.

    If I sell my card & the spare Opteron for around £200 then I can get a:
    Leadtek GeForce 7800 GS 256MB GDDR3 TV-Out/DVI (AGP) - Retail from Overclockers for £200. So in theory it should cost me nothing!

    I still wonder how it would compare to a the P4 with the faster RAM (albeit half the amount!) & PCI-X. Does anyone have a decent AGP card that I can borrow:D

    Scott
     
  4. shacky

    shacky
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    go for the gainward 7800gs GLH (GLH = GOES LIKE HELL 20 PIPES !! ) LOOK FOR REVIEWS......
     
  5. apolloa

    apolloa
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,350
    Forgive me for saying but isn't the 250 Opteron designed to ONLY run in a Dual CPU motherboard hence the '2' before the 50 instead of the 1? if you want one the try these motherboards:
    http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/server/svr/pro_svr_detail.php?UID=613

    http://www.tyan.com/products/html/tigerk8we.html
     
  6. Syfer

    Syfer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    3,229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +99
    I think it means up to 2? You can use 1 in a dual board if there is a blank in the other slot.

    http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=SK8N

    Scott
     
  7. apolloa

    apolloa
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,350
    So you need a dual CPU motherboard then but just run the one Opteron in it. I know you can do that with Xeon's but wasn't quite sure of the Opteron. Don't fance getting a dual CPU rig then? YOu could save some pennys and watercool it and OC the hell out of the 250 you have and most Opteron boards these days will also accept dual core models for when they are cheaper.
     

Share This Page

Loading...