B&W 684 vs 685

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by 1JR, Jun 22, 2015.

1. 1JR

1JR
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys,

I'm new to high end audio, so excuse my ignorance. And I know this question may have been posed before, but the questions/answer veers slightly from how I want to ask this.
    I'm currently deciding between buying B&W 684's or 685's. This will be for a medium size, but open plan, living room. I'm looking for a stereo setup mainly for listening to music. I'm indifferent in price of the two speakers, because when stands are included, the price is very close. What I notice is whenever people compare the two sets on forums, they add that the 685's plus a sub will be better than 684's. But no one ever discusses 684's plus sub. Is combining a floor-stander and a sub a waste? Are the 684's the real deal, or is this a way of making the 600 series more affordable. And do the 684's "give something up" by having smaller drivers than the 685's?

Thanks

2. lokyc

lokyc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +429
    Personally, I thought the 684S2s are the best speakers of the 600S2 range. you're right, when stands are included, bookshelves don't seem that good value. Its more a space issue than anyting else.

There are other technical reasons why sometimes a standmount is better than a cheap floorstander.

The 684S2s and the CM8s are unique though. Its best to regard them as standmounts with their own stands.

The drivers may be smaller, but the cone area will be marginally more than the 685S2.

Narrower drivers are not there just for aesthetics. the smaller baffle frontal width means the sound seems to come more from a point source. The 684S2 uses the same cabinet construction as the CM8 which B&W feel is one of their best cabinet designs (ie gives least colouration). The net result is very sharp imaging.