B&O Turntable a risky buy?

Labourer

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

After some opinions :)

I have a Beocenter 3200, been mounted on the wall for the last decade but getting less and less usage. I'd like to inject some new life by moving back to vinyl (get thee behind me, Spotify!) so I need to add a turntable to it. I only want a basic, entry level player. There are some nice B&O models on eBay but I'm worried about spares etc given B&O don't make these things anymore.

So my question to you lovely people is: with a budget around £250, would you go for something new (Audio-Technica AT-LP120 is well reviewed), or is a B&O table still worth a punt?

Thanks!

Ok I'm no turntable expert but my FiL was offered a B&O turntable and asked for my advice. It was almost impossible to get a new cartridge for it so in the end that was the reason he decided against the idea. It was a lovely looking thing though.

No. I would spend the 250 on a CD olayer. The only and ONLY argument financial or cultural is if you already have a large collection of vinyl . There is no High Fidelity improvement to be had. Nostalgia ain't what it used to be.

No. I would spend the 250 on a CD olayer. The only and ONLY argument financial or cultural is if you already have a large collection of vinyl . There is no High Fidelity improvement to be had. Nostalgia ain't what it used to be.

I'd strongly disagree with that. CD's generally have no worthwhile resale value while vinyl in many cases will sell for more than you paid for it new. For the most part I've been collecting cds for the last 30 years while a close friend has been buying vinyl. His collection is now worth many tens of thousands while I would struggle to give most of mine away, despite the fact that we've been buying mostly the same stuff for years.